Champion Flat Jockeys 1950 - 2013


 Year         Flat Jockey
1950 J W  Thompson
1951 J Mullane
1952 J Mullane
1953 L Ward
1954 J Eddery
1955 J Eddery
1956 L Ward
1957 L Ward
1958 L Ward
1959 L Ward
1960 G Bougoure
1961 L Ward
1962 T P Glennon
1963 J Roe
1964 J Roe
1965 G McGrath
1966 J Roe
1967 J Roe
1968 J Roe
1969 R F Parnell
1970 G McGrath
1971 J Roe
1972 J Roe
1973 J Roe
1974 J Roe
1975 C Roche
1976 W Swinburn
1977 W Swinburn
1978 T Murphy
1979 C Roche
1980 C Roche
1981 C Roche
1982 P Eddery
1983 C Roche
1984 M J Kinane
1985 M J Kinane
1986 M J Kinane
1987 M J Kinane
1988 M J Kinane
1989 M J Kinane
1990 C Roche
1991 M J Kinane
1992 M J Kinane
1993 M J Kinane
1994 M J Kinane
1995 J P Murtagh
1996 J P Murtagh
1997 C Roche
1998 J P Murtagh
1999 M J Kinane
2000 P J Smullen
2001 P J Smullen
2002 M J Kinane
2003 M J Kinane
2004 J P Spencer
2005 P J Smullen
2006 D P McDonogh
2007 P J Smullen
2008 P J Smullen
2009 Johnny Murtagh
2010 P J Smullen
2011 Johnny Murtagh
2012 Joseph O'Brien
2013 Joseph O'Brien

Christy Roche


One of Ireland’s best flat jockeys, Christy Roche enjoyed a near 30 year career in the saddle winning races like the Budweiser Irish Derby (3 times) while he also partnered the David O’Brien trained Secreto to a memorable short head success over El Gran Senor in the 1984 Epsom Derby. Roche retired from the saddle in 1998.

Michael Kinane


Michael Kinane has been Champion Flat Jockey a stagering 13 times. At the age of 52 Michael is retired from racing, however still rides out for John Oxx.

To Learn more Click Here 

Pat Smullen


Pat Smullen has been established as one of the top riders in Europe for many years now and his best years look to still be ahead of him. His greatest attribute as a rider is his consistency and he rarely loses a race he should have won, which is the mark of a great jockey.

To learn more Click Here

Johnny Murtagh


Co.Meath native Johnny Murtagh is both a flat jockey and trainer in Ireland. He has been Irish flat racing Champion Jockey five times.