James Anthony (Séamus) Heffernan

Date of birth: July 17, 1972

County of origin: Kildare

First winner: Annsfield Lady (PJ Finn) Dundalk, August 10, 1988

First Group winner: Wild Bluebell (Jim Bolger) Group 3 Concorde Stakes, Tipperary, October 1, 1995

First Group 1 winner: Beckett (Aidan O'Brien) Aga Khan Studs National Stakes, Curragh, September 17, 2000

First Classic winner: Imagine (Aidan O'Brien) Irish 1,000 Guineas, Curragh, May 27, 2000

Significant horses (Selected): Magical, Anthony Van Dyck, Capri, Highland Reel, Was, Beckett, Imagine, Santiago, Soldier Of Fortune, Frozen Fire, So You Think, Cape Blanco, Septimus, Peaceful, Halfway To Heaven, Misty For Me, Dylan Thomas, Seventh Heaven, Galileo, Brave Anna, Crusade, U S Navy Flag, Again, Minding, Beckett, Power, Pedro The Great, Caravaggio, Diamondsandrubies, Rhododendron, Empress Josephine. 

Assoc. Trainers: Aidan O'Brien

Did you know?

From Donore, Caragh, County Kildare, James Anthony Heffernan, better known as Séamus, is undoubtedly one of the most successful Irish jockeys of all time. His first introduction to horse racing came at the stables of Arthur Moore and with PJ Finn, but he served his apprenticeship with Jim Bolger. He shared the title of Champion Apprentice with Daragh O'Donoghue in 1994 and finished runner-up to Pat Smullen in the same championship the following season.

He first linked up with the Aidan O'Brien stable in 1996 and has ridden an array of big-race winners for Ballydoyle. His first Group 1 success came on the O'Brien-trained Beckett in the National Stakes at the Curragh in September 2000 and his first Classic victory was on O'Brien's Imagine in the Irish 1,000 Guineas at the same course in May of the following year. Mount Nelson was his first Group 1 winner outside Ireland in the Criterium International at Saint-Cloud in 2006. 

Séamus won the the Epsom Oaks on Was in 2012 and the Epsom Derby on Anthony Van Dyck in June 2019. He scored his first win at the Breeders' Cup when taking the Longines Breeders' Cup Turf on the O'Brien-trained Highland Reel at Santa Anita in 2016. 

Séamus has enjoyed big-race success closer to home with Soldier Of Fortune (2007), Frozen Fire (2008), Capri (2017) and Santiago (2020) in the Irish Derby. Imagine (2001), Halfway To Heaven (2008), Misty For Me (2011), Peaceful (2020) and Empress Josephine (2021) are his Irish 1,000 Guineas winners. He landed the Irish Oaks on Seventh Heaven in 2016 and the Irish St Leger on Septimus in 2008.

Cape Blanco in 2010, So You think (2011) and Magical (2020) brought him Irish Champion Stakes success and he has also enjoyed numerous other Group 1 winners in Ireland, Britain, France and America. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2022/20237811696€96,900€34,205€131,105
Winter All Weather 2021/2022393632€20,700€19,630€40,330
Winter All Weather 2020/2021694573€29,100€26,970€56,070
Winter All Weather 2019/2020202201€13,800€8,490€22,290
Winter All Weather 2018/2019555735€43,125€24,825€67,950
Winter All Weather 2017/2018170222€0€23,350€23,350
Winter All Weather 2016/2017381235€6,875€11,525€18,400
Winter All Weather 2015/2016535456€34,300€13,365€47,665
Winter All Weather 2014/2015531231€5,250€5,885€11,135
Winter All Weather 2013/2014614742€25,550€14,410€39,960
Winter All Weather 2012/2013544006€19,320€2,280€21,600
Winter All Weather 2011/2012655369€29,820€14,138€43,958
National Hunt 2008/200942000€17,150€2,200€19,350
National Hunt 2007/200810001€0€600€600
National Hunt 2006/200710000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2005/200620010€0€1,160€1,160
National Hunt 2004/2005181123€8,400€7,190€15,590
National Hunt 2003/2004214120€42,500€3,710€46,210
Flat 202246253434136€578,000€492,265€1,070,265
Flat 202143357522531€851,100€561,545€1,412,645
Flat 202033667353729€2,198,600€410,475€2,609,075
Flat 201936120293229€397,913€879,875€1,277,788
Flat 201840447403941€1,090,675€832,613€1,923,288
Flat 201740740454435€1,539,613€880,948€2,420,560
Flat 201636557424140€1,312,925€425,504€1,738,429
Flat 201529431232327€864,750€518,750€1,383,500
Flat 201432129362829€404,520€480,408€884,928
Flat 201332129392925€457,650€663,995€1,121,645
Flat 201232017273534€304,350€416,860€721,210
Flat 201141940354336€1,374,040€593,218€1,967,258
Flat 201045635273842€886,575€395,280€1,281,855
Flat 200948223333844€301,525€612,758€914,283
Flat 200853448513837€2,112,130€517,775€2,629,905
Flat 200762576486664€2,353,995€1,054,685€3,408,680
Flat 200645733383642€576,360€381,640€958,000
Flat 200548935513722€546,660€415,920€962,580
Flat 200452228434353€414,245€486,195€900,440
Flat 200349844494743€542,680€603,046€1,145,726
Flat 200247532453438€635,930€667,552€1,303,482
Flat 200142638363339€659,205€553,137€1,212,341
Flat 200032126213119€386,947€417,760€804,707
Flat 199922518272020€145,715€216,242€361,957
Flat 199821515112216€129,831€166,587€296,418

Date From