Jamie Codd

County of origin: Wexford

First winner: Killultagh Thunder (Willie Mullins) Leopardstown, December 28th, 2001

First point-to-point winner: Eyze (Mags Mullins) Bramblestown, October 7th, 2001

900th point-to-point winner: Pegase Amour (Liam Lennon) Loughanmore, November 10, 2018 

Significant horses (selected): Cause Of Causes, Junior, Character Building, The Package, Rule Supreme, Missed That, Howaya Pet, Shaneshill, Petit Mouchoir, On The Fringe, Fayonagh, Le Breuil, Envoi Allen, Ravenhill.

Assoc. trainers: Gordon Elliott, Eoin Doyle, John McConnell, Ross O'Sullivan, Prunella Dobbs, Peter Fahey

Did you know: 

From Mayglass, County Wexford, Jamie Codd is one of the finest amateur riders of his generation. He is the second winning-most point-to-point rider in the history of the sport. He is the only modern day rider to ride all six winners on one card emulating both John Berry who went through the card at Caim in 1988 and Brian McLernon who achieved the same feat in 1959.

Along the way he also managed to squeeze in riding his first Grade 1 winner when steering ex-pointer Shaneshill to success for Willie Mullins at the Punchestown Festival in 2014. He has ridden the winner of the Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup at the Cheltenham Festival on four occasions, on Character Building in 2009, Junior in 2011, The Package in 2015 and Cause Of Causes 2016. He also partnered Cause Of Causes to win the National Hunt Chase at Cheltenham in 2015 and the Cross Country Chase in 2017. He won the Cheltenham Festival Bumper on Fayonagh in the same year and rode two more Festival winners in 2019, Le Breuil in the National Hunt Chase and Envoi Allen gave him a second victory in the Bumper. Codd won the National Hunt Chase again on the Gordon Elliott-trained Ravenhill in 2020 and now has ten Festival winners to his name.  

Another notable success to come his way was the Crabbie´s Fox Hunters' Chase at Aintree in April of 2016 which he won the Enda Bolger-trained On The Fringe, replacing the suspended Nina Carberry. In August of the same year he enjoyed another high-profile success when landing the Amateur Derby at Epsom on the John Quinn-trained Hubertas. In November, 2016, Jamie reached another milestone when partnering his 800th point-to-point winner on Laylamac, trained by Damian Murphy, at Dromahane.

Jamie was crowned champion amateur rider for the first time at the conclusion of the 2016/2017 season. He rode 41 winners to pip Patrick Mullins in a thrilling climax to the title race. Mullins, a nine-time winner of the title, lost out by just one winner. 

Jamie became only the second jockey to ride 900 point-to-point winners when success on the Liam Lennon-trained Pegase Amour at Loughanmore in County Antrim on Saturday, November 10, 2018. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
National Hunt 2020/202115442272616€304,200€131,540€435,740
National Hunt 2019/20201152421217€189,225€99,310€288,535
National Hunt 2018/2019842513129€346,563€65,013€411,575
National Hunt 2017/201811318271217€131,250€88,588€219,838
National Hunt 2016/20171374116189€399,875€77,675€477,550
National Hunt 2015/201668616106€43,388€77,995€121,383
National Hunt 2014/20156010564€116,000€18,480€134,480
National Hunt 2013/2014142110€64,650€11,190€75,840
National Hunt 2012/2013682439€10,150€14,427€24,577
National Hunt 2011/2012435635€26,950€24,361€51,311
National Hunt 2010/2011253040€19,600€3,220€22,820
National Hunt 2009/2010645196€28,700€15,115€43,815
National Hunt 2008/2009485135€37,100€6,473€43,573
National Hunt 2007/2008333412€19,250€10,615€29,865
National Hunt 2006/2007531224€5,600€8,535€14,135
National Hunt 2005/200611471046€72,200€31,090€103,290
National Hunt 2004/200514111161517€98,450€58,395€156,845
National Hunt 2003/200417624171921€188,450€74,160€262,610
National Hunt 2002/20031261613108€139,300€56,115€195,415
National Hunt 2001/2002534212€35,705€5,836€41,540
National Hunt 2000/200170002€0€921€921

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Fairyhouse 13/04/21 Chato Santana NHF 2m 11 12-0 Irish Stall. Farms EBF Auction Flat Race
Fairyhouse 04/04/21 Pats Choice NHF 2m 4 11-6 Tattersalls Ireland Sales Bumper €5,000
Fairyhouse 03/04/21 Party Central NHF 2m 1 11-8 Irish Stall. Farms EBF (M) INH Flat Race (Listed) Listed €18,000
Fairyhouse 03/04/21 Jury Duty Ch 3m 150yds 3 12-2 Frank & Teresa O’Reilly Mem Hunters S'ch €1,350
Fairyhouse 03/04/21 Ballycairn NHF 2m 8 11-13 Jetaway.ie (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race
Limerick 28/03/21 Boothen Boy NHF 2m 5 11-4 Kevin McManus Bookmaker (P-Am) Flat Race (Listed) Listed €1,050
Cork 25/03/21 Fierami (FR) HcpHdl 2m 4f 2 12-3 108 Blackwater (QR) H'cap H'dle €2,200
Tipperary 24/03/21 Gortmillish (FR) NHF 2m 3f 110yds 2 12-2 Nenagh (C&G) P-To-P INH Flat Race (Div 1) €1,600
Tipperary 24/03/21 Au Fleuron (FR) NHF 2m 2f 1 11-9 Lisronagh P-To-P INH Flat Race €4,800
Tipperary 24/03/21 Somewhat Cloudy NHF 2m 2f 2 11-11 Ormond (Mares) P-To-P INH Flat Race €1,600
Tipperary 24/03/21 Ballybough Native NHF 2m 2f 1 12-2 Horse & Jockey P-To-P INH Flat Race €4,800
Clonmel 23/03/21 Fourneux D'isanka (FR) NHF 2m 2f 112yds 11 12-2 Virtual Racing BoyleSports INH Flat Race
Downpatrick 21/03/21 Fire Squadron NHF 2m 1f 65yds 5 12-2 Molson Coors (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race €300
Downpatrick 21/03/21 Cemister (FR) Ch 2m 7f 100yds u.r. 12-2 Boardsmill Sires M'dn Hunters S'chase
Thurles 20/03/21 Baba Buck's (FR) NHF 2m 101yds 13 11-9 www.thurlesraces.ie (P-Am) INH Flat Race
Down Royal 17/03/21 Patient Lady NHF 2m 140yds 10 11-11 Bluegrass Horse Feeds (M) INH Flat Race
Down Royal 17/03/21 Complete Sizing (FR) Ch 2m 3f 140yds 2 12-2 117 Bluegrass Horse Feeds Hunters S'chase €2,000
Punchestown 15/03/21 General Medrano NHF 2m 4f 3 11-9 Punchestown (C&G) P-To-P INH Flat Race €800
Punchestown 15/03/21 Jet Of Magic NHF 2m 4f 1 12-2 Punchestown (C&G) P-To-P INH Flat Race €4,800
Punchestown 15/03/21 Wall Of Fame NHF 2m 1f 150yds 1 12-2 Punchestown (C&G) P-To-P INH Flat Race €4,800

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info