Derek O'Connor

County of origin: Galway 

Assoc. Trainers: Joseph O'Brien, Eugene O’Sullivan, Robert Tyner, Gordon Elliott, Charles Byrnes, Pat Doyle, Colin McKeever, Paurick O'Connor.  

Significant horses (selected): Edwulf, Any Second Now, Zemsky, Minella Rocco, Chicago Grey, Kilcruit, Joe Blake, Gonebeyondrecall, Coolnahilla, Reine Des Reines, Death Duty, Vision Des Flos, Rapid Deployment, Balnaslow, Top Twig, Tyrone Golden Rain, Media Queen. 

Did you know:

From Tubber, County Galway, Derek O’Connor has long been recognised as one of the best amateur jockeys Ireland has ever produced. As well as being a potent force when riding under rules, being crowned Champion Amateur in the 2003/04 season and riding a notable double at the Cheltenham Festival in 2011, Derek has rewritten the record books in point-to-points on numerous occasions and has won more races than any other rider in that sphere.

He became the first rider to notch up his 1,000 point-to-point winners when successful on the Pat Doyle-trained Death Duty in February of 2015. Derek has three Cheltenham Festival winners to his name. He won the National Hunt Chase for a second time when partnering Jonjo O’Neill’s Minella Rocco to success in 2016 but memorably rode two winners at the 2011 festival, taking the National Hunt Chase on Chicago Grey and the Foxhunters’ Chase on Zemsky. Derek brought his Cheltenham Festival tally to four when winning the 2019 Kim Muir Handicap Chase on the Ted Walsh-trained Any Second Now. 

Aside from his victories at the Cheltenham Festival, Derek is no stranger to notable success at the biggest Irish racecourses. His biggest winner came at Leopardstown in February, 2018 where he won the Unibet Irish Gold Cup on the Joseph O'Brien-trained Edwulf for which he won the inaugural Horse Racing Ireland 'Ride of the Year' Award. Derek O'Connor rode his 1200th point-to-point winner on Nelly's Money for Robert Tyner at Dromahane on December 30, 2018. 

Derek won the Grade 1 Champion Bumper at the Punchestown Festival for the first time on the Willie Mullins-trained Kilcruit in April 2021. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
National Hunt 2021/2022284482€24,000€18,860€42,860
National Hunt 2020/202110311151412€123,000€89,565€212,565
National Hunt 2019/202068127116€118,125€64,513€182,638
National Hunt 2018/201910719151411€207,031€100,163€307,194
National Hunt 2017/2018931010169€179,375€74,638€254,013
National Hunt 2016/2017453468€89,375€27,338€116,713
National Hunt 2015/2016366436€49,263€13,370€62,633
National Hunt 2014/2015676796€36,400€36,305€72,705
National Hunt 2013/20144951055€32,550€24,235€56,785
National Hunt 2012/2013765948€34,650€35,520€70,170
National Hunt 2011/2012438314€58,350€9,155€67,505
National Hunt 2010/2011432321€12,250€15,355€27,605
National Hunt 2009/201065410104€22,050€37,368€59,418
National Hunt 2008/2009716524€55,150€12,040€67,190
National Hunt 2007/20087761068€56,700€39,885€96,585
National Hunt 2006/2007546844€89,850€55,075€144,925
National Hunt 2005/20069814868€127,200€44,510€171,710
National Hunt 2004/200597111289€76,650€37,495€114,145
National Hunt 2003/200414131171611€277,900€82,160€360,060
National Hunt 2002/2003696936€100,300€26,125€126,425
National Hunt 2001/2002150202€0€6,127€6,127
National Hunt 2000/2001180010€0€863€863

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Galway 26/07/21 Dutch Schultz (GB) Mdn 1m 4f 84yds 5 12-0 Monami Construction (Q.R.) M'dn €360
Galway 26/07/21 De Name Escapes Me Hcp 2m 179yds 15 11-5 88 Connacht Hotel (QR) H'cap
Ballinrobe 20/07/21 Babog Mor (GB) NHF 2m 38yds 9 12-2 On-Course Vets INH Flat Race
Killarney 16/07/21 Via Rosa NHF 2m 1f 2 11-4 BoyleSports (M) (Pro/Am) INH Flat Race €2,200
Killarney 15/07/21 Bambeano NHF 2m 1f 4 11-2 Ring Of Kerry INH Flat Race €500
Killarney 13/07/21 Magic Tricks (FR) Mdn 1m 6f 20yds 2 12-0 Gap Of Dunloe (QR) M'dn €2,200
Cork 09/07/21 Kazimierz NHF 2m 14 11-9 Charleville INH Flat Race
Wexford 02/07/21 Presentingnewyork NHF 2m 4f 150yds 1 11-11 Irish Injured Jockeys (M) INH Flat Race €6,000
Bellewstown 01/07/21 Dalvey (GB) F 1m 4f 24yds 4 11-3 94 Western Motors Drogheda (QR) Race €600
Down Royal 18/06/21 Miracle Millions NHF 2m 100yds 8 11-9 Metcollect (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race
Down Royal 18/06/21 Whispering Pines NHF 2m 100yds p.u. 11-2 Tughans (P-A) (Fillies) INH Flat Race
Leopardstown 17/06/21 Monas Melody Mdn 1m 7f 2 11-4 Dun Laoghaire (QR) M'dn €2,200
Clonmel 11/06/21 Stamp Your Feet HcpHdl 3m 3 12-1 106 Orchard Thieves (QR) H'cap H'dle €1,100
Kilbeggan 06/06/21 Strike Of Lighting NHF 2m 3 12-2 Kilbegganraces (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race €1,000
Tramore 05/06/21 Botani BegCh 1m 7f 160yds 3 11-9 Tramore GAA (Mares) Beginners S'chase €1,100
Punchestown 30/05/21 Via Rosa NHF 2m 3 11-4 Irish EBF (Mares) (Pro/Am) INH Flat Race €1,200
Punchestown 29/05/21 Salvador Ziggy NHF 2m 100yds 2 12-2 Ladbrokes (Pro/Am) INH Flat Race €2,000
Ballinrobe 25/05/21 Castlebrook HcpCh 2m 7f p.u. 11-7 136 McHale Mayo National H'cap S'chase (Grade B) Grade B
Ballinrobe 25/05/21 Ballyglass NHF 2m 64yds 3 11-9 McHale Orbital INH Flat Race €1,000
Wexford 16/05/21 Whispering Pines NHF 2m 3 11-5 Irish Stall. Farms EBF (M) INH Flat Race €1,100

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info