Shane Foley

Date of Birth: March 11th, 1988

County of origin: Kilkenny

First winner: Snap (Liam McAteer) Leopardstown, 20th June, 2007

Significant horses (Selected): Jet Setting, Romanised, Raydara, Landfall, Success Days, Prophet, Final Frontier, Ramone, Russian Soul, Marvada, Gossamer Seed, Snaefell, Bob Le Beau, Banksters Bonus, Strait Of Zanzibar, Bible Belt, Rock On Ciara, Bold Thady Quill, Chrysanthemum, Rehana. 

Assoc. Trainers: Jessica Harrington, Michael Halford

Did you know?

It could be argued that Shane Foley was one of the best apprentices of recent years not to win a Champion Apprentice title. He finished runner-up to fellow Michael Halford-apprentice Gary Carroll in 2009 with a fine tally of 33 winners and looked set to make a big challenge for the title in 2010 only to have his prospects scuppered by an injury sustained at Bellewstown in late-August and again he had to settle for second spot behind Joseph O'Brien.

His failure to win the junior title didn't slow his progress in any way and Shane quickly became well established as a top 10 rider in Ireland, mainly due to his association with Michael Halford. But it was Halford's fellow Curragh trainer Adrian Keatley who gave Shane his first major success when Jet Setting landed the Tattersalls Irish 1,000 Guineas at the Curragh on May 22nd, 2016.

Halford and Foley went their separate ways when the Curragh trainer announced on September 15, 2017 that the rider would no longer be automatic first choice for his runners. Foley said at the same time that he would continue riding as a freelance. The pair shared 227 winners in Ireland over a ten year period before the split.

Foley was back in the big time when landing a second Classic success at the Curragh in May 2018 when taking the Tattersalls Irish 2,000 Guineas on Romanised for local trainer Ken Condon. Shane was appointed as Jessica Harrington's number one rider for the 2019 Flat season in February of the same year. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2018/20197910886€80,000€37,506€117,506
Winter All Weather 2017/20181148121213€66,250€58,900€125,150
Winter All Weather 2016/2017659878€73,750€36,875€110,625
Winter All Weather 2015/2016436557€55,900€18,430€74,330
Winter All Weather 2014/2015961615510€124,150€48,320€172,470
Winter All Weather 2013/2014671110512€76,300€24,660€100,960
Winter All Weather 2012/2013811513124€91,070€28,453€119,523
Winter All Weather 2011/201284109611€72,100€21,858€93,958
Flat 201960974727255€1,101,613€641,653€1,743,265
Flat 201859058636164€1,026,438€545,853€1,572,290
Flat 201750944613647€505,500€510,555€1,016,055
Flat 201654151566452€855,325€507,600€1,362,925
Flat 201553764625461€825,665€462,125€1,287,790
Flat 201448240595355€426,825€443,515€870,340
Flat 201349350655955€522,300€389,822€912,122
Flat 201249461625464€674,196€384,633€1,058,829
Flat 201146538504046€396,080€262,125€658,205
Flat 201028123282737€277,090€133,888€410,978
Flat 200936533293120€239,180€120,219€359,399
Flat 200830619221724€155,720€80,175€235,895
Flat 200717767613€51,660€40,770€92,430

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Naas 20/10/19 Trethias (GB) F 1m 2 9-3 103 Business Club Irish EBF Garnet Stakes (Listed) Listed
Naas 20/10/19 Slieve Bearnagh Mdn 6f 11 9-5 Tifrums Irish EBF (C&G) M'dn
Naas 20/10/19 Allez Allez Allez Mdn 6f 7 9-0 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Fillies) M'dn
Naas 20/10/19 For The Trees Hcp 6f 1 8-7 83 Tally-Ho EBF Birdcatcher Premier Nursery
Naas 20/10/19 Elite Legion F 7f 7 8-10 84 Foran Equine Irish EBF Auct. Race Final
Naas 20/10/19 Camphor F 1m 3f 190yds 3 9-0 97 Irish Stallion Farms EBF Bluebell Stakes (Listed) Listed
Leopardstown 19/10/19 Pyramid Rock Mdn 1m 5 9-0 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Fillies) M'dn
Leopardstown 19/10/19 Grey Serge (GB) Hcp 1m 5 9-7 75 Leopardstown Spooktacular Nursery H'cap
Leopardstown 19/10/19 Ancient Spirit (GER) F 1m 2f 2 9-7 105 Trigo Stakes (Listed) Listed
Leopardstown 19/10/19 Aesop Mdn 1m 7 9-5 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (C & G) M'dn
Leopardstown 19/10/19 Dali's Dream Mdn 1m 2f 8 9-0 Leopardstown Members Club M'dn
Dundalk 18/10/19 Klute Hcp 7f 8 9-11 93 Book Your Christmas Party Dundalk H'cap
Dundalk 18/10/19 Persian Lion Hcp 1m 4f 9 9-5 82 Crowne Plaza Race & Stay H'cap
Dundalk 18/10/19 Recall The Show (GB) Hcp 7f 3 9-12 80 I Love You Mrs Hayes Nursery H'cap
Dundalk 18/10/19 Loughanlea Lass Hcp 7f 7 9-0 53 BetVictor Bet 5 Get 40 Offer H'cap (Div 2)
Gowran Park 14/10/19 Yulong Moneyreef Mdn 1m 9 9-5 Irish Stallion Farms EBF M'dn
Gowran Park 14/10/19 Waterville Lady Hcp 7f 8 9-8 68 Gowran Park Racing Club Nursery H'cap
Gowran Park 14/10/19 Curious Bride Mdn 1m 8 9-0 Thomastown (Fillies) Median Auction M'dn
Gowran Park 14/10/19 Case In Point Hcp 1m 15 9-8 64 H'cap
Curragh 13/10/19 Tresorier (GB) Hcp 6f 3 10-0 74 Curragh Community Race Day H'cap €1,100

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info