Ronan Whelan

Date of Birth: November 2, 1992

County of origin: Kildare

First winner: Seachtanach (Jim Bolger) Navan, June 5, 2009

First Group winner: Custom Cut (George Kent) Group 3 Big Bad Bob Gladness Stakes, April 7, 2013

First Group 1 winner: Skitter Scatter (Patrick Prendergast) Moyglare Stud Stakes, Curragh, September 16, 2018

Champion Apprentice Jockey: 2012

Assoc. Trainers: Michael Halford, Jim Bolger, Jarlath Fahey, Mick Channon, Ado McGuinness

Significant horses (Selected): A Case Of You, Skitter Scatter, Jennies Jewel, Opal Tiara, Divine, Custom Cut, Canary Row, The Tartan Spartan, Lady Wingshot, Clongowes, Moran Gra, Sea The Lion, Puncher Clynch, That's Plenty, Atasari, Cest Notre Gris, Morga. 

Follow him on Twitter: @WhelanRonan

Did you know?

A native of Monasterevin in County Kildare, Ronan Whelan was a well-regarded graduate of the pony racing circuit, having ridden 95 winners and being crowned the leading pony rider in 2008. Whelan took his first ride on the racecourse at the age of 16 and rode his first winner on just his second ride on Jim Bolger's Seachtanach at Navan in June, 2009. He was the champion apprentice rider in 2012 with 41 winners. The Bolger-trained Lady Wingshot gave him his first listed success in the Knockaire Stakes at Leopardstown in November of that year and he won the Group 3 Gladness Stakes on George Kent's Custom Cut at the Curragh the following April. Mick Channon supplied Whelan with a second Group 3 success when Divine landed the Ballyogan Stakes at the Curragh in April, 2016.

Ronan Whelan rode his first winner at Royal Ascot when he partnered Jennies Jewel to land the Ascot Stakes Handicap on June 15, 2016. Jennies Jewel is trained by Jarlath Fahey who was a neighbour of Whelan's growing up. In September, 2016, Jim Bolger announced that he intends to make Whelan his stable jockey on the retirement of Kevin Manning. 

Ronan rode his first Group 1 winner when landing the Moyglare Stud Stakes on the Patrick Prendergast-trained Skitter Scatter on the second day of Longines Irish Champions Weekend at the Curragh in September, 2018. The Ado McGuinness-trained A Case Of You gave Whelan as second success at the top-level when winning the Prix de l'Abbaye at ParisLongchamp in October 2021. 

Ronan has ridden the winners of four races at the same meeting on two occasions. He rode a four-timer for trainer Jim Bolger as a 3lbs claiming apprentice at Wexford on July 27, 2013 and repeated the feat at Dundalk on December 11, 2020 where he shared a treble with Michael Halford and rode another winner for trainer Richard O'Brien. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2021/20225491133€69,600€37,010€106,610
Winter All Weather 2020/202190116148€78,300€49,475€127,775
Winter All Weather 2019/202094142386€100,800€84,620€185,420
Winter All Weather 2018/20192810611€111,875€20,863€132,738
Winter All Weather 2017/2018495863€42,500€34,650€77,150
Winter All Weather 2016/2017736995€48,125€34,700€82,825
Winter All Weather 2015/201662101346€71,750€31,175€102,925
Winter All Weather 2014/20154441130€21,000€20,050€41,050
Winter All Weather 2013/2014154221€23,800€4,420€28,220
Winter All Weather 2012/2013478224€56,490€5,627€62,117
Winter All Weather 2011/2012542534€17,500€11,445€28,945
Flat 202225710162529€133,500€266,888€400,388
Flat 202150438424243€497,700€366,150€863,850
Flat 202046828552943€339,900€513,000€852,900
Flat 201944442493943€656,125€471,328€1,127,453
Flat 201842944234336€836,406€332,185€1,168,591
Flat 201739927304433€343,250€349,860€693,110
Flat 201636025243532€234,988€374,994€609,981
Flat 201522911202227€96,050€144,058€240,108
Flat 201425714162622€132,560€149,023€281,583
Flat 201327921362623€232,900€278,913€511,813
Flat 201225531273013€263,250€185,739€448,989
Flat 201122519191517€139,360€123,413€262,773
Flat 201011441099€28,350€36,115€64,465
Flat 2009613822€51,570€19,964€71,534

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Curragh 06/08/22 Slieve Binnian Mdn 6f 11 9-7 John Ormonde Construction Irish EBF M'dn
Curragh 06/08/22 Joyous Moment Hcp 6f 9 8-12 68 Donohue Marquees H'cap
Curragh 06/08/22 The Snapper Mdn 7f 8 9-7 John Ormonde Wexford Sand Irish EBF M'dn
Tipperary 05/08/22 Manwal Hcp 1m 1f 10 9-8 72 Tipperary H'cap
Tipperary 05/08/22 Pearling Path (FR) F 7f 100yds 5 9-5 Coolmore Stud Churchill Stakes (Listed) Listed
Leopardstown 04/08/22 Riccardi Medici Hcp 1m 1f 3 9-3 64 Leopardstown Golf Centre H'cap (Div 2) €1,050
Leopardstown 04/08/22 Je T'ai Porte F 7f 15yds 6 9-8 66 Spring Break Live Claiming Race €200
Leopardstown 04/08/22 Arcanears Hcp 7f 15yds 9 9-10 64 Manguard Plus H'cap
Sligo 03/08/22 Miss Abby Jools Hcp 1m 2f 50yds 10 10-0 63 Sligo Champion H'cap
Sligo 03/08/22 Fassbender Hcp 1m 4f 210yds 6 9-6 54 Rockshore Cider H'cap €210
Sligo 03/08/22 Duke Of Leggagh Hcp 5f 160yds 7 9-3 64 Guinness Nursery H'cap
Sligo 03/08/22 Bringsty (GB) F 1m 2f 50yds 8 9-7 67 Rockshore Lager Claiming Race
Naas 01/08/22 Distillate (GB) Hcp 5f 4 9-3 72 ARKequine ACME Nursery H'cap €800
Naas 01/08/22 Betterdaysrcoming F 5f 205yds 7 9-2 Irish EBF Ballyhane Stks (Med Auct Race) €6,000
Naas 01/08/22 Al Sayah (GB) Mdn 1m 8 9-2 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Fillies) M'dn
Galway 31/07/22 Laugh A Minute (GB) Hcp 7f 3 9-1 89 Irish Stallion Farms EBF 'Ahonoora' Hcap €11,000
Galway 29/07/22 Zonik Hcp 1m 98yds 18 9-5 61 Arthur Guinness H'cap
Galway 29/07/22 Great Realisation Hcp 1m 6f 14yds 10 9-9 68 Hop House 13 H'cap
Galway 29/07/22 Lissadell Mdn 1m 4f 8 9-3 Guinness Irish EBF (Fillies) M'dn
Galway 29/07/22 Zileo (GB) Hcp 1m 4f 14 9-5 85 Guinness H'cap

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info