Colin Keane

Date of Birth: September 12, 1994

County of origin: Meath

First winner: No Trimmings (Gerry Keane) Dundalk, December 10, 2010

First Group 1 winner: Laganore (Tony Martin) Premio Lydia Tesio, Capannelle, Rome, October 29, 2017

First Classic winner: Siskin (Ger Lyons) Irish 2,000 Guineas, Curragh, June 12, 2020

Champion Jockey: 2017 and 2020

Champion Apprentice Jockey: 2014

Assoc. Trainers: Ger Lyons, Gerry Keane

Significant horses (Selected): Siskin, Even So, Helvic Dream, Champers Elysees, Mustajeer, Laganore, Brendan Brackan, My Good Brother, Convergence, Argentero, Ainippe, Bear Creek, Queen Catherine, Blue De Vega, Medicine Jack, Sea Wolf, Ardhoomey, Realtra, Psychedelic Funk, Elegant Pose. 

Follow Colin on Twitter: @ctkjockey

Did you know?

Colin Keane rode 54 winners when crowned champion apprentice in 2014 having finished second to Connor King the previous season. He rode his first Group winner when successful on Brendan Brackan in the Group 3 Solonaway Stakes at the Curragh on September 15, 2013.

Firmly established among the leading riders in Ireland, Keane has been stable jockey to Ger Lyons since the summer of 2014. With 65 winners, he finished runner-up to Pat Smullen in the jockeys' championship in 2015 but won the title just two years later and again in 2020.

His fine association with Ger Lyons has yielded a number of significant wins. Early among them was the Group 2 GAIN Railway Stakes with Medicine Jack at the Curragh in June, 2016 and a bigger success came their way when Ardhoomey captured the Group 2 Derrinstown Stud Flying Five Stakes at the same venue on Longines Irish Champions Weekend the following September.

Colin rode his first Group 1 winner when partnering the Tony Martin-trained Laganore to success in the Premio Lydia Tesio at Capannelle in Rome on Sunday, October 29, 2017.

Just two weeks later, Colin was crowned champion jockey for the first time when he got the better of an epic duel with Pat Smullen to land the 2017 title. A final day double at Naas on Sunday, November 5 saw him claim the championship with 100 winners, 12 clear of the Offaly legend.  

Keane and Lyons shared their first Group 1 success together when Siskin won the Phoenix Stakes at the Curragh in August 2019. Shortly afterwards they combined to win the first running of the £1 million Ebor Handicap at York with Mustajeer. Keane rode 103 winners in Ireland in the 2019 season and finished second in the championship, eight winners behind Donnacha O'Brien. 

Siskin gave Keane and Lyons a first Classic victory when taking the Tattersalls Irish 2,000 Guineas at the Curragh on June 12, 2020. The race was run a little later in the season due to the Covid-19 pandemic. A little over four weeks later, Even So gave the pair a second Classic success when taking the Juddmonte Irish Oaks at the Curragh. Another 2020 Group 1 success came on the Johnny Murtagh-trained Champers Elysees in the Matron Stakes at Leopardstown in September. 

Colin rode the first four-timer of his career when successful on Ecliptical (4/1, Ger Lyons), A Step Too Far (2/1 fav, Kieran Cotter), Misty Millie (6/1, Garvan Donnelly) and Jeff Kidder (7/2, Noel Meade) at Bellewstown on Wednesday, August 26, 2020, a day that was to reignite his 2020 jockeys' championship challenge. 

At one stage during the season, Shane Foley led Keane by 22 winners in the title race, but on the back of his Bellewstown four-timer, Keane went on to ride a remarkable 26 winners (compared to 11 for Foley) in September and an October haul of 27 (compared to Foley's 19) saw him enjoy a healthy advantage heading into the final days of the term. 

With both men cutting their seasons short to ride at the Breeders' Cup, Keane secured his second title at Naas on Sunday, November 1. A winner on his final ride of the season at the Curragh the following afternoon saw Keane end up with a tally of 100, eight ahead of Shane Foley. 

Colin rounded off a superb 2020 when landing a first Breeders' Cup success at Keeneland in November. He partnered Tarnawa to win the Breeders' Cup Turf for trainer Dermot Weld, a first winner at the meeting for the legendary Curragh trainer. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2020/2021911013115€63,000€46,745€109,745
Winter All Weather 2019/202064132610€91,500€23,400€114,900
Winter All Weather 2018/201973111096€97,500€42,788€140,288
Winter All Weather 2017/20186891295€66,250€48,275€114,525
Winter All Weather 2016/20179819131311€137,188€55,150€192,338
Winter All Weather 2015/201664106511€69,650€25,690€95,340
Winter All Weather 2014/2015749999€58,450€28,310€86,760
Winter All Weather 2013/2014871113811€67,550€29,285€96,835
Winter All Weather 2012/2013435135€25,340€4,707€30,047
Winter All Weather 2011/2012354013€17,360€1,960€19,320
Flat 202131250334337€641,100€294,595€935,695
Flat 2020611100766660€1,935,800€612,810€2,548,610
Flat 2019700103989659€1,616,688€891,340€2,508,028
Flat 2018661821007962€1,050,094€812,513€1,862,606
Flat 2017609100797862€1,304,938€816,178€2,121,115
Flat 201654077795359€1,072,125€704,203€1,776,328
Flat 201546165556155€933,835€473,563€1,407,398
Flat 201435554444435€562,020€328,340€890,360
Flat 201324235251823€371,560€80,912€452,472
Flat 2012142914107€46,340€37,939€84,279
Flat 20111105768€32,935€23,551€56,486
Flat 2010101000€3,430€0€3,430

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Naas 23/06/21 Miss Jabeam Hcp 5f 205yds 8 10-2 63 Naas Racecourse H'cap (Div 2)
Naas 23/06/21 Angel Palm (GB) Hcp 5f 205yds 6 9-9 92 JF Dunne Insurances Business Club H'cap
Naas 23/06/21 Party House F 1m 2f 6 9-2 Irish Stallion Farms EBF Naas Oaks Trial (Listed) Listed
Naas 23/06/21 Sacred Bridge (GB) Mdn 5f 205yds 1 9-2 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Fillies) M'dn
Naas 23/06/21 Apres Toi (GB) Mdn 1m 6 9-2 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Fillies) M'dn
Naas 23/06/21 Gatwick Kitten (USA) Hcp 5f 205yds 12 10-1 64 Naas Racecourse H'cap (Div 1)
Naas 23/06/21 Mutasarref (GB) Mdn 7f 5 9-7 Naas Racecourse Nursery Of Champions Mdn
Limerick 18/06/21 Kalapour F 1m 4f 110yds 4 9-9 Martin Molony Stakes (Listed) Listed €1,875
Limerick 18/06/21 Eylara F 1m 3 9-6 92 Adare (Fillies) Race €1,350
Limerick 18/06/21 Acqua Di Gioia Mdn 1m 3f 70yds 4 9-2 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Fillies) M'dn €675
Limerick 18/06/21 Gegenpressing (GB) F 6f 150yds 1 9-9 75 Croom Claiming Race €6,000
Limerick 18/06/21 Jarvis Mdn 6f 150yds 4 9-6 Median Auction M'dn €600
Limerick 18/06/21 Run For Mary Hcp 2m 1f 1 10-2 82 Shanagolden H'cap €7,200
Leopardstown 17/06/21 Elzaam Tales F 6f 191yds 5 9-6 Irish EBF Auction Series Race €900
Leopardstown 17/06/21 Zumoradda Hcp 1m 3 9-7 74 Leopardstown H'cap €1,100
Leopardstown 17/06/21 Kazakdaria Mdn 1m 4f 180yds 2 9-2 Median Auction M'dn €2,400
Leopardstown 17/06/21 Blazing Star (GB) Mdn 6f 191yds 1 9-2 Belarmine M'dn €7,200
Leopardstown 17/06/21 Diderot (GB) Hcp 1m 7 9-12 90 Dundrum H'cap
Leopardstown 17/06/21 Lunar Power Hcp 1m 4f 180yds 2 8-13 65 Sandycove H'cap €2,100
Leopardstown 17/06/21 Navorrosse Hcp 6f 191yds 11 9-12 66 Leopardstown Golf Course & Range H'cap

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info