Finny Maguire

County of origin: Cork

First winner: Mm Dazzler (Adrian Maguire) Bryan MacMahon (QR) Race, Listowel, June 1, 2014

First winner over hurdles: Jarob (Andrew Lynch) November Festival Christmas Fair Handicap Hurdle, Punchestown, October 15, 2015

First winner over fences: Two Rockers (Adrian Maguire) Arctic Tack Stud Hunters Chase, Thurles, January 14,  2016

Assoc. Trainers: Dermot Weld, Dermot McLoughlin, Liz Doyle, Roger McGrath, Tom Mullins, Charles O'Brien, Paddy Twomey

Did you know:

A son of the great Adrian Maguire, Finny was 16 years of age when he rode his father's Mm Dazzler to win at Listowel on June 1st, 2014. That was his first winner on the racecourse but he had ridden extensively on the pony racing circuit, as did his father before him. Maguire went on to ride a winner for Dermot Weld at Galway the following month and went one better in 2015 when he rode two winners for the King Of Ballybrit at the Galway festival.

Finny Maguire rode his first winner in Britain when landing the China Southern Sanya Amateurs' Derby at Epsom on the Peter Chapple-Hyam-trained Medalla De Oro on August 27, 2018 but his biggest success to date came at the Dublin Racing Festival at Leopardstown in early February 2019 where he landed the Grade 2 Coolmore NH Sires EBF Mares INH Flat Race on the Dermot McLoughlin-trained Santa Rossa. Leopardstown has been a happy hunting ground for Maguire who rode three bumper winners at the famed Christmas Festival at the track in 2018. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
National Hunt 2022/2023332403€16,800€15,640€32,440
National Hunt 2021/2022625545€86,400€23,140€109,540
National Hunt 2020/20219071188€81,300€83,855€165,155
National Hunt 2019/20208328109€14,113€69,500€83,613
National Hunt 2018/20191121015159€119,688€67,106€186,794
National Hunt 2017/20187777108€54,063€45,650€99,713
National Hunt 2016/2017951311129€84,219€43,988€128,206
National Hunt 2015/201684168105€127,300€31,873€159,173
National Hunt 2014/20157091276€65,800€37,720€103,520
National Hunt 2013/201410000€0€0€0

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Gowran Park 26/01/23 Jerisk Star (FR) NHF 2m 2 11-10 P.J. Foley Memorial INH Flat Race €2,100
Navan 21/01/23 Ballycottonjacksie NHF 1m 7f 170yds 8 12-0 Racing Again Feb 12 (P-Am) INH Flat Race
Clonmel 17/01/23 Clounts Glory Ch 2m 4f p.u. 11-7 Rathronan M'dn Hunters S'chase
Punchestown 16/01/23 Watermark NHF 2m 8 11-11 I.S.F. EBF (Mares) INH Flat Race
Leopardstown 28/12/22 Golden Star NHF 2m 10 12-0 Midland Legal Solicitors INH Flat Race
Leopardstown 27/12/22 Matilda Park NHF 2m 4f 6 11-7 Paddy Power Flat One INH Flat Race €240
Down Royal 26/12/22 Mollys Glory MdnHdl 2m 1f 2 11-1 Red Mills Irish EBF Auction M'dn H'dle €4,000
Down Royal 26/12/22 Salmanino (FR) BegCh 2m 4f 2 11-12 Irish Stall. Farms EBF Beginners S'chase €2,800
Down Royal 26/12/22 Definetly Darsi HcpCh 2m 4f 8 11-4 90 Metcollect H'cap S'chase
Thurles 18/12/22 Nine Graces (GB) NHF 1m 7f 111yds 6 11-11 I.S.F. EBF (Mares) INH Flat Race €220
Clonmel 08/12/22 Lets Do This MdnHdl 2m 3f 14yds 4 11-4 (Q.R.) M'dn H'dle €500
Thurles 24/11/22 Slane Hill MdnHdl 2m 33yds 6 11-4 Start Christmas Here (QR) M'dn H'dle €200
Fairyhouse 15/11/22 Fill The Tank HcpCh 2m 7f 160yds p.u. 11-7 100 Ireland V Britain (Q.R.) H'cap S'chase
Fairyhouse 15/11/22 Royal Juniper Ch 2m 7f 160yds 5 11-4 INHSC Supp. Point-To-Points Hunters S'ch €300
Wexford 31/10/22 Good Land (FR) NHF 2m 100yds 1 12-0 Thanks For 2022 (C&G) (PA) INH Flat Race €6,000
Curragh 23/10/22 Falcon Eight F 1m 4f 1 11-7 109 Tote Always SP Amateur Derby (Q.R.) Race €10,800
Cork 16/10/22 Coole Vision NHF 2m 3f 8 11-7 Paschal Brennan (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race
Galway 04/10/22 Sonny Fella (GB) NHF 2m 160yds 10 11-7 Student Raceday 31 October INH Flat Race
Tipperary 02/10/22 Catchabird NHF 2m 12 11-5 Peppermill (Fillies) INH Flat Race
Gowran Park 30/09/22 Kiss My Lucky Egg (GB) NHF 2m 5 11-6 ISF EBF Mucklemeg (Mares) INH Flat Race (Listed) Listed €900

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).