Darragh O'Keeffe

Date of Birth: March 21, 2000

County of origin: Cork

First winner: William Du Berlais (Enda Bolger) Killarney, July 17, 2018

Assoc. Trainers: Enda Bolger

Significant horses (selected): William Du Berlais, Ballyoisin, Deor, The Gatechecker, All The Answers. 

Did you know: 

From Doneraile, County Cork, Darragh was 18 years of age when he rode his first winner on the Enda Bolger-trained William Du Berlais at Killarney in July, 2018. His career was well and truly up and running when partnered the same horse to win again just five days later at Tipperary.

Another owned by JP McManus, Ballyoisin, gave Darragh notable early success when winning the €100,000 Ladbrokes Ireland Listowel Handicap Hurdle at the Listowel festival in September of the same year. 

Darragh rode his 60th winner and rode out his claim when landing the Cork Grand National on the Michael Hourigan-trained The Gatechecker in early November, 2019. 

Darragh became champion conditional jockey for the 2019/2020 season. He won the title with a record 45 winners, one more than Jack Kennedy’s winning total in the 2015/2016 season. O’Keeffe finished five winners clear of Kevin Brouder with both jockeys riding out their claims during the season. In addition to his big Cork success on The Gatechecker, Darragh also enjoyed notable victories on the Joseph O'Brien-trained All The Answers, one of his three Galway festival winners, and Enda Bolger’s Ballyoisin, in a season cut short by the Covid-19 pandemic. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2019/202040000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2020/2021212032€0€7,050€7,050
National Hunt 2019/202041448435523€459,213€331,895€791,108
National Hunt 2018/201913514979€171,719€78,988€250,706
National Hunt 2017/201860010€0€1,000€1,000
Flat 2020121002€6,000€1,050€7,050
Flat 2019151011€6,600€2,480€9,080
Flat 201760000€0€0€0

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Bellewstown 08/07/20 Bye Bye O Bye HcpHdl 3m 13 11-4 98 Racing Again August 25 - 27 H'cap H'dle
Gowran Park 08/07/20 Lady In Lavender Hcp 1m 6 9-11 65 Supporting The Irish Jockeys Fund H'cap (Div 1)
Killarney 07/07/20 Cailean's Angel BegCh 2m 4f 180yds 8 11-9 BoyleSports (Mares) Beginners S'chase
Killarney 07/07/20 Everlastingpromise (GB) HcpCh 2m 1f 1 10-1 125 BoyleSports Bourn Vincent H'cap S'chase (Grade B) Grade B
Killarney 07/07/20 Thatbeatsbanagher HcpCh 2m 4f 180yds 1 11-3 107 BoyleSports H'cap S'chase
Killarney 07/07/20 Shannon Tide BegCh 2m 1f 7 12-0 BoyleSports Beginners S'chase
Fairyhouse 05/07/20 Indignation (FR) Hcp 1m 2f 4 9-11 68 BARONERACING.COM H'cap (Div 2) €500
Bellewstown 04/07/20 Badness Backfires MdnHdl 2m 160yds 9 12-0 www.fast-lines.com M'dn H'dle
Bellewstown 04/07/20 Tick Along MdnHdl 2m 4f 50yds 4 11-1 95 Tattersalls Ireland (Mares) M'dn H'dle €500
Bellewstown 04/07/20 Jess's Corner MdnHdl 2m 160yds 5 11-9 99 Consistently The Best M'dn H'dle €300
Sligo 02/07/20 Powersbomb Hcp 1m 4f 189yds 4 9-10 77 Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel H'cap €550
Tipperary 01/07/20 Westmead BegCh 2m 3f 130yds p.u. 12-0 MansionBet Proud to Support Beg S'chase
Tipperary 01/07/20 Epsilon Indi HcpHdl 2m 4f 11 11-10 98 MansionBet's Beaten By A Head H'cap Hdle
Tipperary 01/07/20 Shotgun Sally HcpCh 2m 7f 70yds 3 10-12 86 Emly H'cap S'chase €1,000
Tipperary 01/07/20 Tuscansunset HcpHdl 3m p.u. 11-7 85 MansionBet Best Odds Guaranteed Hcap Hdl (Div 2)
Kilbeggan 29/06/20 Reach Up (GB) HcpCh 2m 3f 200yds 7 10-9 115 Follow Kilbeggan On Facebook Hcap Schase
Kilbeggan 29/06/20 Bye Bye O Bye HcpHdl 2m 8 11-13 100 Follow Kilbeggan On Twitter H'cap H'dle (Div 1)
Kilbeggan 29/06/20 Kilderry Prince HcpCh 2m 3f 200yds 5 10-2 71 Follow Kilbeggan On Insta H'cap S'chase €300
Kilbeggan 29/06/20 Long Island Jenn MdnHdl 2m 3f 180yds 7 11-9 80 KilbegganRaces.com Mares M'dn H'dle
Curragh 28/06/20 Presto (GB) Hcp 2m 9 9-3 89 Irish Stallion Farms EBF H'cap

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info