Michael Winters

County of Origin: Cork

First winner: Phelans Fancy (Mr Michael John O'Connor) Downpatrick, March 12, 2005

Significant horses: Rebel Fitz, Missunited, For Bill, Sayce Gold, Theos Well, Western Devil, Annagh Lady, Final Question, Perfect Woman, Granny Biddy, Chatham Street Lad, Another Rebel, Johnny Gonzalez, Derrygowna Court.

Did you know: 

From Kanturk, County Cork, Michael is one of the most recognisable and popular racehorse trainers in the country. He has enjoyed tremendous success over the years, namely with Rebel Fitz and Missunited, back-to-back winners of the Guinness Galway Hurdle.  

Rebel Fitz won his first race in a bumper at the Listowel Festival in 2010 and would go on to notch up 18 career successes. Davy Russell was in the saddle when he won the Guinness Galway Hurdle in 2012. There was more to come over fences and he gave connections another huge day when winning the Grade 1 Powers Gold Cup, partnered by Barry Geraghty, at the Fairyhouse Easter Festival in 2014. His final victory came in the Grade 2 Istabraq Hurdle at Tipperary in October of the same year. 

The first of Missunited's 12 wins also came in a bumper at the Listowel Festival, in 2011. She enjoyed a terrific career which culminated in a Group 3 victory on her final start at Glorious Goodwood in 2014. In between, she landed a Grade 3 novice hurdle at Limerick on St Patrick's Day 2013 before winning the Guinness Galway Hurdle under Barry Geraghty, three months later. 



Guinness Galway H'dle H'cap (Grade A) (Missunited - R.M. Power - 2013)

Guinness Galway H'dle H'cap (Grade A) (Rebel Fitz (FR) - D.N. Russell - 2012)

Powers Gold Cup (Grade 1) (Rebel Fitz (FR) - B.J. Geraghty - 2014)

Kevin McManus Bookmaker Grimes H'dle (Grade 3) (Rebel Fitz (FR) - D.N. Russell - 2012)

Istabraq H'dle (Grade 2) (Rebel Fitz (FR) - B.J. Geraghty - 2014)

Ardilaun Hotel Oyster Stakes (Listed) (Missunited - J.A. Heffernan - 2013)

Irish Stallion Farms EBF(Mares)Nov.H'dle (Grade 3) (For Bill - D.N. Russell - 2010)

Seamus/Rosemary McGrath MemSaval Beg Stk (Listed) (Missunited - K.J. Manning - 2014)

Coolmore NH Sires EBF(Mares)Novice S'ch (Grade 3) (For Bill - - 2011)

ITBA Fillies Scheme EBF(Pro/Am) FlatRace (Listed) (For Bill - M.J. O'Connor - 2009)

Kerry Group EBF (Mares) Novice H'dle (Missunited - B.J. Geraghty - 2013)

Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Mares) S'chase (Derrygowna Court - D.N. Russell - 2007)

Like-A-Butterfly Novice S'chase (Grade 3) (Rebel Fitz (FR) - B.J. Geraghty - 2013)

Hugh McMahon Memorial Novice S'chase (Grade 3) (Chatham Street Lad - D.J. O'Keeffe - 2021)

Kerry Group Stayers Novice H'dle (Sayce Gold - D.J. O'Keeffe - 2020)

Irish Stallion Farms EBF Mares S'chase (For Bill - D.N. Russell - 2011)

www.corkracecourse.ie H'cap H'dle (Chatham Street Lad - L.P. Dempsey - 2019)

McSweeney Arms Hotel H'cap H'dle (Another Rebel - M.J. Ferris - 2013)

Guinness Mid-Strength Novice S'chase (Rebel Fitz (FR) - B.J. Geraghty - 2013)

Deacy Gilligan Novice S'chase (Rebel Fitz (FR) - B.J. Geraghty - 2013)

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2018/201910000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2014/201510000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2013/201410000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2022/2023897546€48,400€23,825€72,225
National Hunt 2021/20221016479€38,400€28,530€66,930
National Hunt 2020/2021757195€72,000€25,280€97,280
National Hunt 2019/2020602493€13,800€27,470€41,270
National Hunt 2018/20191311311147€109,375€66,600€175,975
National Hunt 2017/2018877576€55,000€28,463€83,463
National Hunt 2016/2017139691110€42,813€53,188€96,000
National Hunt 2015/20168918849€149,500€34,858€184,358
National Hunt 2014/20157141152€53,900€23,018€76,918
National Hunt 2013/201491168105€355,480€22,740€378,220
National Hunt 2012/2013558617€263,220€32,530€295,750
National Hunt 2011/2012646854€45,150€32,645€77,795
National Hunt 2010/2011596654€75,700€29,863€105,563
National Hunt 2009/2010438241€101,460€9,415€110,875
National Hunt 2008/2009619334€69,475€11,665€81,140
National Hunt 2007/2008356354€54,100€18,855€72,955
National Hunt 2006/2007252614€14,350€14,700€29,050
National Hunt 2005/2006170023€0€3,710€3,710
National Hunt 2004/200591311€5,600€5,590€11,190
Flat 202320000€0€0€0
Flat 202241000€9,000€450€9,450
Flat 202030000€0€0€0
Flat 2018120100€0€2,200€2,200
Flat 201740000€0€325€325
Flat 201661101€9,063€4,113€13,175
Flat 2015101000€7,700€0€7,700
Flat 2014123021€49,800€3,030€52,830
Flat 201391402€33,000€35,575€68,575
Flat 2012164230€30,700€16,740€47,440

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Ballinrobe 30/05/23 Brownstone S. Fitzgerald HcpHdl 2m 6f 13yds 7 10-10 80 FBD H'cap H'dle (Div 1)
Limerick 25/05/23 Crowsatedappletart S. Fitzgerald HcpCh 2m 1f 160yds 6 11-2 93 PAQIT H'cap S'chase €210
Wexford 20/05/23 West Breeze D.J. O'Keeffe HcpCh 3m 1f 50yds u.r. 11-9 102 Ambrex Switchgear H'cap S'chase
Downpatrick 19/05/23 Brownstone S. Fitzgerald HcpHdl 2m 5f 100yds 7 11-0 81 Earlybird Opportunity H'cap H'dle
Tipperary 18/05/23 Princess Of Paris S. Fitzgerald MdnHdl 2m 11 10-10 tipperaryraces.ie (M) M'dn H'dle
Tipperary 18/05/23 Crowsatedappletart Rachael Blackmore HcpHdl 2m 7 12-0 102 Follow Us On Facebook H'cap H'dle (Div 1)
Killarney 16/05/23 Mid Life Crisis K.J. Leonard Mdn 1m 31yds 11 9-9 Fexco M'dn
Ballinrobe 02/05/23 West Breeze M.P. O'Connor HcpCh 2m 1f 4 9-11 102 KOG Logistics H'cap S'chase €825
Cork 21/04/23 Junot G.F. Carroll Mdn 1m 2f 30yds 14 10-7 Buy Tickets At CorkRacecourse.ie M'dn
Tipperary 18/04/23 Brownstone A.L. Fitzgibbon HcpHdl 2m 8 10-8 82 Junction H'cap H'dle
Cork 10/04/23 Crowsatedappletart E. Walsh HcpHdl 2m 3 11-0 100 Don't Tell John M H'cap H'dle €1,150
Cork 10/04/23 Clounts Glory C.J. Shine Ch 3m 11 11-4 Rathbarry & Glenview (M) Hunters S'chase
Cork 09/04/23 Princess Of Paris S. Fitzgerald MdnHdl 2m 3f 9 11-4 O'Flynn Motors Mallow (Mares) M'dn H'dle
Cork 09/04/23 West Breeze S. Fitzgerald HcpHdl 3m 80yds 4 11-8 110 The Mallow Commercials CVRT H'cap H'dle €575
Clonmel 06/04/23 Pana To Milan L.A. McKenna HcpCh 2m 6f 169yds p.u. 10-7 90 Adare Manor Opportunity H'cap S'chase
Limerick 30/03/23 Crowsatedappletart Rachael Blackmore HcpHdl 2m 1 11-5 93 Locke Burger H'cap H'dle €6,300
Limerick 30/03/23 Wyoming Baby A.L. Fitzgibbon NHF 2m 3f 13 11-4 Storm The Stars EBF (M) INH Flat Race
Cork 23/03/23 Junot S. Fitzgerald MdnHdl 2m 7 11-4 Welcome To Student Raceday M'dn H'dle
Cork 23/03/23 Crowsatedappletart Rachael Blackmore HcpHdl 2m 4f 5 11-12 93 Way To Paris At Coolagown H'cap H'dle €315
Cork 23/03/23 West Breeze Rachael Blackmore HcpHdl 3m fell 10-9 109 Conway's Yard 'Egg And Spoon' H'cap Hdle

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).