Des McDonogh

County Of Origin: Meath

Date Of Licence: 1972

First Winner: Muraka, Thurles, February 1st, 1973

Significant Horses: Monksfield, Strandfield, Herbert United, Assigh Lady, Brevet, Royal South, Morga, Fiscal Focus

Did you know?

Des McDonogh will always be remembered as the trainer of the great Monksfield who won the Champion Hurdle in 1978 and again in 1979. The late-1970’s and early-1980’s were generally considered a golden era for two-mile hurdlers, with Sea Pigeon, Night Nurse and Monksfield each winning two Champion Hurdles in that period. Monksfield had a battling attitude to rival any horse and it served him exceptionally well especially at Cheltenham where his form figures were 2-2-1-1-2. McDonogh began training in 1972 and sent out his first winner early the following year when Muraka, ridden by Alan Ross, won a bumper at Thurles on Thursday, February 1st. He also enjoyed success with the likes of Strandfield who won the Supreme Novices' Hurdle in 1979 and a few years later with Herbert United, who finished runner-up to Kesslin in the Irish Champion Hurdle in 1986 but was awarded the race in the steward's room. Brevet, Assigh Lady and Royal South were smart types Des trained to notable success on the Flat. Des is father to former Flat champion jockey Declan McDonogh. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2019/202010000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2016/201740001€0€550€550
Winter All Weather 2013/201440000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2011/201250000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2019/2020451193€6,300€37,813€44,113
National Hunt 2018/2019663365€34,375€39,088€73,463
National Hunt 2017/2018593568€19,375€35,788€55,163
National Hunt 2016/2017693855€25,625€53,050€78,675
National Hunt 2015/2016738596€64,938€28,560€93,498
National Hunt 2014/2015625657€53,000€21,688€74,688
National Hunt 2013/2014654553€32,000€11,990€43,990
National Hunt 2012/2013463316€16,030€9,027€25,057
National Hunt 2011/2012400135€0€6,300€6,300
National Hunt 2010/2011292200€17,325€2,848€20,173
National Hunt 2009/2010261101€5,950€1,650€7,600
National Hunt 2008/2009320021€0€2,610€2,610
National Hunt 2007/2008220113€0€3,880€3,880
National Hunt 2006/2007150010€0€720€720
National Hunt 2005/2006340000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2004/2005351122€8,750€5,155€13,905
National Hunt 2003/2004230000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2002/2003190011€0€1,140€1,140
National Hunt 2001/2002430020€0€1,930€1,930
National Hunt 2000/2001260011€0€876€876
Flat 201990001€0€2,100€2,100
Flat 201850120€0€12,000€12,000
Flat 201790011€0€4,625€4,625
Flat 201681111€18,750€15,540€34,290
Flat 201560000€0€0€0
Flat 2014120002€0€6,000€6,000
Flat 201360000€0€0€0
Flat 2012200101€0€1,860€1,860
Flat 2011222021€10,500€1,880€12,380
Flat 2010420522€0€14,845€14,845
Flat 2009294013€25,900€3,000€28,900
Flat 2008502033€29,700€7,185€36,885
Flat 2007530521€0€17,445€17,445
Flat 2006230013€0€2,840€2,840
Flat 2005272032€19,950€4,175€24,125
Flat 2004521200€22,440€4,080€26,520
Flat 2003652235€77,500€18,165€95,665
Flat 2002321213€13,200€8,325€21,525
Flat 2001510211€0€9,682€9,682
Flat 2000541044€7,999€14,151€22,151
Flat 1999401543€8,888€26,873€35,761
Flat 1998256325€27,553€6,495€34,048

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Dundalk 13/03/20 Alterno N.M. Crosse Hcp 1m 4f 9 8-8 47 Craic At The Track This Weekend H'cap
Punchestown 15/01/20 Fair Minded M.A. Enright HcpHdl 2m 9 10-2 85 Ladbrokes Daily Odds Boosts H'cap H'dle
Fairyhouse 14/01/20 Theophilus M.P. Fogarty HcpHdl 2m 4f p.u. 11-7 90 Your Clubs Fundraiser H'cap H'dle
Fairyhouse 11/01/20 Best Intentions M.P. Walsh MdnHdl 2m 2f 110yds fell 11-7 Easter Festival Tickets (Mares) Mdn Hdle
Punchestown 31/12/19 Morga C.P. McNamara HcpHdl 2m 3f 120yds 8 10-3 116 Happy New Year From Tote H'cap H'dle
Limerick 29/12/19 Theophilus M.P. Fogarty HcpHdl 2m 3f 8 11-3 92 The Irish Field H'cap H'dle
Naas 16/12/19 Fair Minded M.P. Walsh HcpHdl 2m 3f 10 11-3 86 Lawlors Of Naas H'cap H'dle
Navan 15/12/19 Best Intentions D.J. McInerney MdnHdl 2m 20 11-5 Irish Stallion Owners EBF M'dn H'dle
Fairyhouse 01/12/19 Morga C.P. McNamara HcpHdl 2m 7 9-4 118 BARONERACING.COM H'cap H'dle (Grade A) Grade A
Fairyhouse 01/12/19 Hearts Are Trumps S.D. Torrens HcpHdl 2m 6 10-11 139 BARONERACING.COM H'cap H'dle (Grade A) Grade A €2,000
Punchestown 26/11/19 Above The City E. Walsh MdnHdl 2m 100yds 19 10-12 BETDAQ Trading Tools M'dn H'dle
Punchestown 26/11/19 Larry Looby E. Walsh MdnHdl 2m 5f 150yds 12 11-5 I.N.H. Stallion Owners EBF M'dn H'dle
Fairyhouse 19/11/19 Theophilus S.W. Flanagan HcpHdl 2m 4f 100yds 12 11-10 93 Book Your Easter Tickets H'cap H'dle
Fairyhouse 12/11/19 Theophilus M.P. Fogarty HcpHdl 2m 4f 3 11-3 93 Book Tickets At H'cap Hdle €1,100
Navan 10/11/19 Larry Looby S.D. Torrens NHF 2m 10 11-7 Kevin Bell Trust (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race
Navan 10/11/19 Howluckycanwebe D.J. O'Keeffe HcpHdl 2m s.u. 9-10 91 The Hotel Park St Johann H'cap H'dle
Naas 03/11/19 Morga G.F. Carroll Hcp 1m 6f 15 8-11 90 Local Bookmakers November H'cap
Down-Royal 02/11/19 Hearts Are Trumps S.D. Torrens HcpHdl 2m 100yds 4 11-3 139 North Down Marquees H'cap H'dle (Grade B) Grade B €2,500
Down-Royal 01/11/19 Above The City P.W. Mullins NHF 2m 100yds 5 11-8 Jumping For Joy Racing TV INH Flat Race €450
Galway 26/10/19 Fair Minded M.P. Walsh HcpHdl 2m 2f 163yds 13 10-12 88 Faber Audiovisuals H'cap H'dle

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info