David Marnane

County Of Origin: Tipperary

Date of licence: 2005

First winner: Spirit Of Age (Fran Berry) Tralee, June 7, 2005

Significant horses (Selected): Settle For Bay, Dandy Boy, Maundy Money, Jamesie, Seanie, Nocturnal Affair, Rain Rush, Santo Padre, Stuttgart, Bangalore Gold, Maysa, Maal. 

Assoc. jockeys: Wayne Lordan, Chris Hayes, Declan McDonogh, Oisin Orr, Killian Leonard. 

Did you know:

A top amateur rider who rode over 100 winners, David Marnane served his time with the likes Tommy Stack, Mick O'Toole, Dermot Weld, John Oxx and Noel Meade. He enjoyed no shortage of success in the saddle and the GPT Handicap at Galway and the Champion Bumper in Punchestown were among the big races he won.

A move to Dubai in 1997 set him on the road to becoming a trainer and his education was furthered over the next eight years with Kieran McLaughlin and Doug Watson. He set up as a trainer in Ireland in 2005 and was soon among the winners. Horses such Stuttgart, Maundy Money, Maysa, Maal and Rain Rush helped him make his name and the likes of Santo Padre, Dandy Boy and Bangalore Gold cemented his position as a trainer of note.

Dandy Boy gave David his first Royal Ascot winner and the stable enjoyed a second success at the same world famous meeting when the Billy Lee-ridden Settle For Bay won the Royal Hunt Cup Handicap on June 20, 2018. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2022/2023275433€40,800€14,810€55,610
Winter All Weather 2021/2022185141€40,500€10,965€51,465
Winter All Weather 2020/2021514585€30,000€23,995€53,995
Winter All Weather 2019/2020343533€36,000€16,580€52,580
Winter All Weather 2018/2019342625€26,250€18,875€45,125
Winter All Weather 2017/20184464113€51,875€29,988€81,863
Winter All Weather 2016/2017475848€35,625€30,100€65,725
Winter All Weather 2015/2016434578€24,500€32,370€56,870
Winter All Weather 2014/2015385469€35,700€18,140€53,840
Winter All Weather 2013/2014231232€5,600€7,815€13,415
Winter All Weather 2012/2013506877€43,750€22,990€66,740
Winter All Weather 2011/20126061328€37,520€25,382€62,902
National Hunt 2021/202210000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2020/202110000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2012/201310000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2011/201280012€0€1,475€1,475
National Hunt 2010/2011213100€20,633€1,190€21,823
National Hunt 2009/2010150110€0€2,005€2,005
National Hunt 2008/2009203311€20,125€8,345€28,470
National Hunt 2007/2008443220€23,100€5,710€28,810
National Hunt 2006/2007320121€0€3,653€3,653
National Hunt 2005/2006293130€30,000€4,320€34,320
Flat 2023270511€0€25,475€25,475
Flat 2022723547€45,000€43,065€88,065
Flat 2021774656€24,600€26,405€51,005
Flat 2020591333€5,400€15,500€20,900
Flat 2019615058€36,625€18,308€54,933
Flat 2018919549€82,188€24,600€106,788
Flat 201710698715€74,950€57,435€132,385
Flat 201612965714€50,000€55,173€105,173
Flat 201513015151311€136,580€86,330€222,910
Flat 201416412141823€140,560€153,290€293,850
Flat 201317217202224€136,400€133,277€269,677
Flat 20121818141425€74,350€91,372€165,722
Flat 201123616191932€210,600€107,168€317,768
Flat 201033430283241€279,770€164,253€444,023
Flat 200931521213224€160,500€126,058€286,558
Flat 200822020132111€243,150€101,920€345,070
Flat 200710591188€78,400€38,958€117,358
Flat 2006694536€29,400€17,545€46,945
Flat 2005484413€58,600€10,870€69,470

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Curragh 26/05/23 Jakajaro C.T. Keane Mdn 6f 12 9-5 Irish EBF Auction Series M'dn
Curragh 26/05/23 Jered Maddox (GB) J.A. Powell Hcp 7f 4 8-4 70 Spar Shop At The Curragh H'cap
Naas 21/05/23 Lady Tilbury (GB) R.P. Whelan F 5f 3 8-10 95 Sole Power Sprint Stakes (Listed) Listed €5,000
Leopardstown 19/05/23 Shamastar D. McMonagle Hcp 1m 15 8-12 64 Monkstown H'cap
Leopardstown 19/05/23 City Exile (GB) J.A. Heffernan Mdn 1m 8 9-8 82 Irish EBF Median Auction M'dn
Cork 17/05/23 Jered Maddox (GB) D.P. McDonogh Hcp 7f 12 10-1 71 The Buy Tickets Online H'cap
Cork 17/05/23 Night Moon (GER) D.P. McDonogh Mdn 1m 9 9-8 Follow Us On Instagram M'dn
Cork 17/05/23 Emorcee D.P. McDonogh Mdn 6f 8 9-8 Sign Up To Our Newsletter M'dn
Cork 17/05/23 Amemri (GB) Siobhan Rutledge Hcp 7f 8 8-9 53 The Blackwater Apprentice H'cap
Gowran-Park 10/05/23 Tiktok Time D.P. McDonogh Mdn 7f 6 9-3 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Fillies) M'dn €300
Naas 06/05/23 Cash Or Crypto R.P. Whelan Hcp 5f 205yds 2 8-7 76 Dillon Marshall Property Consultants Hcp €9,000
Cork 05/05/23 Novascape A.J. Slattery Mdn 5f 5 8-8 Irish EBF Auction Series M'dn €750
Cork 05/05/23 Poet's Pride (GB) Hcp 7f 8 9-3 52 Follow Us On Instagram H'cap
Cork 05/05/23 Lady Tilbury (GB) F 5f 110yds 8 9-2 95 Goffs Irish EBF Polonia Stakes (Listed) Listed
Cork 05/05/23 Night Moon (GER) Mdn 1m 2f 40yds 10 9-6 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (C&G) M'dn
Cork 05/05/23 Jakajaro Mdn 5f 6 9-5 Irish EBF Auction Series M'dn €500
Limerick 22/04/23 Tiktok Time D.P. McDonogh Mdn 7f 9 9-3 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Fillies) M'dn
Cork 21/04/23 Shamastar D. McMonagle Mdn 1m 13 9-8 Welcome To Ocana Fest 2023 M'dn
Cork 21/04/23 Night Moon (GER) D.W. O'Connor Mdn 1m 15 9-8 Welcome To Ocana Fest 2023 M'dn
Tipperary 20/04/23 Big Time Girl A.J. Slattery Mdn 5f 12 9-3 67 Irish Stallion Farms EBF M'dn

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).