Henry De Bromhead

County Of Origin: Waterford

Date of licence: 1999

First winner: Fidalus (Paul Maloney), Tramore, January 1st, 2000

Significant horses (Selected): Sizing Europe, Special Tiara, Sizing Granite, Sizing John, Shanahan's Turn, Days Hotel, Smashing, Identity Thief, Petit Mouchoir, Minella Indo, A Plus Tard, Poker Party. 

Assoc. jockeys: Rachael Blackmore, Davy Russell

Follow Henry on Facebook

Follow Henry on Twitter

Visit his Website

Did you know:

Since Henry de Bromhead took over the reins at his father’s County Waterford yard in 1999, he has gradually built a reputation as a shrewd and able trainer. He was well and truly launched onto the international stage by the emergence of Sizing Europe and that horse became one of the most popular horses of his generation. In all, he won 20 races including seven Grade 1 contests, with the highlight arguably being his success in the Queen Mother Champion Chase at the Cheltenham Festival in 2011. Sizing Europe had won the Arkle Chase the year before. Sizing Australia won the Cross Country Chase to complete a double for the yard in 2011 and de Bromhead gained his fourth Cheltenham Festival winner when Special Tiara won the Queen Mother Champion Chase on March 15, 2017. 

Balko Des Flos was a Cheltenham Festival winner for the stable in 2018 and the following year there were two more as Rachael Blackmore won the Close Brothers Novices' Handicap Chase on A Plus Tard and followed up on Minella Indo in the Grade 1 Albert Bartlett Novices' Hurdle. 

TheTote.com Galway Plate (Grade A) (Balko Des Flos (FR) - D.N. Russell - 2017)

thetote.com Galway Plate (Grade A) (Shanahan's Turn - J.J. Burke - 2015)

Boylesports.com Champion S'chase (Grade 1) (Sizing Europe - A.E. Lynch - 2014)

Guinness Kerry National H'cap S'chase (Grade A) (Poker Party (FR) - Rachael Blackmore - 2019)

AIG Europe Champion H'dle (Grade 1) (Sizing Europe - Andrew J. McNamara - 2008)

Boylesports.com Champion S'chase (Grade 1) (Sizing Europe - A.E. Lynch - 2012)

JNwine.com Champion S'chase (Grade 1) (Valseur Lido (FR) - R. Walsh - 2016)

BHP Insurance Irish Champion H'dle (Grade 1) (Petit Mouchoir (FR) - D.J. Mullins - 2017)

Paddy Power Dial-A-Bet S'chase (Grade 1) (Sizing Europe - A.E. Lynch - 2012)

Ladbrokes Munster National H'cap S'chase (Grade A) (Sadler's Risk - A.E. Lynch - 2015)

Irish Daily Mirror Novice H'dle (Grade 1) (Minella Indo - Rachael Blackmore - 2019)

Irish Stallion Farms EBF(Mares)Nov.H'dle (Grade 1) (Honeysuckle (GB) - Rachael Blackmore - 2019)

Flogas Novice S'chase (Grade 1) (Monalee - N.D. Fehily - 2018)

Goffs Thyestes H'cap S'chase (Grade A) (Champagne West - D.J. Mullins - 2017)

Ryanair H'dle (Grade 1) (Petit Mouchoir (FR) - B.J. Cooper - 2016)

Bord na Mona with Nature Novice S'chase (Grade 1) (Sizing Europe - A.E. Lynch - 2009)

Frank Ward Solicitors Arkle Nov. S'chase (Grade 1) (Some Plan - D.N. Russell - 2017)

Paddy Power Future Champions Novice Hdle (Grade 1) (Sizing John (GB) - J.J. Burke - 2014)

Frank Ward Solicitors Arkle Nov S'chase (Grade 1) (An Cathaoir Mor - D.J. Casey - 2010)

Palmerstown House Pat Taaffe Hcap Schase (Grade B) (Heron Heights - D.N. Russell - 2019)

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2018/2019150200€0€7,025€7,025
Winter All Weather 2017/2018130102€0€4,200€4,200
Winter All Weather 2016/2017132211€13,750€5,700€19,450
Winter All Weather 2015/201660101€0€2,970€2,970
Winter All Weather 2014/201550000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2012/201330100€0€1,360€1,360
National Hunt 2019/202016831171720€427,288€181,538€608,825
National Hunt 2018/201962398708166€1,214,375€748,003€1,962,378
National Hunt 2017/201847360525743€820,375€543,688€1,364,063
National Hunt 2016/201742768725445€1,023,825€545,798€1,569,623
National Hunt 2015/201629648394026€771,238€347,990€1,119,228
National Hunt 2014/201532749543830€532,700€292,520€825,220
National Hunt 2013/201431548353535€548,225€243,218€791,443
National Hunt 2012/201322032403024€420,480€244,970€665,450
National Hunt 2011/201218134221924€378,040€109,056€487,096
National Hunt 2010/201118419242018€187,670€175,130€362,800
National Hunt 2009/201016523221515€329,180€96,458€425,638
National Hunt 2008/20091891117157€123,630€93,245€216,875
National Hunt 2007/2008146128612€211,450€42,980€254,430
National Hunt 2006/20071209777€86,300€41,545€127,845
National Hunt 2005/20061048889€79,800€38,505€118,305
National Hunt 2004/2005655234€67,900€10,355€78,255
National Hunt 2003/2004593527€28,000€37,650€65,650
National Hunt 2002/2003833237€21,000€18,535€39,535
National Hunt 2001/2002975666€56,950€29,791€86,741
National Hunt 2000/200193871113€86,596€50,834€137,430
Flat 2019341433€10,313€18,535€28,848
Flat 2018835916€45,313€74,088€119,400
Flat 2017364827€61,750€61,538€123,288
Flat 2016281142€8,750€15,525€24,275
Flat 2015140011€0€1,430€1,430
Flat 201480211€0€4,315€4,315
Flat 201351200€4,900€3,315€8,215
Flat 201210000€0€0€0
Flat 200981102€4,900€3,205€8,105
Flat 2008120012€0€1,900€1,900
Flat 200790012€0€1,710€1,710
Flat 2006270020€0€1,680€1,680
Flat 2005120000€0€0€0
Flat 2004110000€0€0€0
Flat 2003190100€0€1,700€1,700
Flat 2002190212€0€5,740€5,740
Flat 2001250421€0€16,583€16,583
Flat 2000171201€5,333€4,247€9,580

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Listowel 14/09/19 Tisamystery D.P. Holden HcpCh 2m 1f p.u. 10-9 122 Charlie Chute Memorial H'cap S'chase
Listowel 14/09/19 Or Jaune De Somoza (FR) H. Morgan HcpCh 2m 1f 1 11-3 130 Charlie Chute Memorial H'cap S'chase €15,600
Listowel 12/09/19 Stacks Mountain (GB) H. Morgan HcpHdl 3m 9 10-13 124 Devon Inn Hotel H'cap H'dle
Listowel 12/09/19 Avenir D'Une Vie (FR) Rachael Blackmore HcpHdl 2m 12 10-5 131 Ladbrokes Ireland Listowel H'cap H'dle (Grade B) Grade B
Listowel 12/09/19 Mount Hanover (GB) Rachael Blackmore BegCh 2m 6f 5 11-12 Kevin McManus Beginners S'chase €480
Listowel 11/09/19 Poker Party (FR) Rachael Blackmore HcpCh 3m 1 10-5 138 Guinness Kerry National H'cap S'chase (Grade A) Grade A €120,000
Listowel 11/09/19 Valseur Lido (FR) S.W. Flanagan HcpCh 3m 12 10-1 134 Guinness Kerry National H'cap S'chase (Grade A) Grade A
Listowel 10/09/19 Imperial View Rachael Blackmore MdnHdl 2m 4f 6 11-2 Jet O'Carroll Memorial EBF (M) Mdn H'dle €340
Listowel 10/09/19 Alice O'Byrne Rachael Blackmore MdnHdl 2m 7 11-1 Connollys RED MILLS EBF Auction Mdn Hdle
Listowel 08/09/19 Patchouli (GB) Rachael Blackmore Hdl 2m p.u. 10-1 Kerry Group 3-Y-O H'dle
Listowel 08/09/19 Jan Maat (GER) Rachael Blackmore NovCh 2m 1f 2 11-7 133 Cheestrings Novice S'chase €4,400
Listowel 08/09/19 Deans Road Rachael Blackmore HcpCh 2m 4f 9 11-10 139 Kerry Group H'cap S'chase
Listowel 08/09/19 Killiney Court H. Morgan HcpCh 2m 4f 8 10-1 123 Kerry Group H'cap S'chase
Listowel 08/09/19 The King Of Brega D.P. Holden Hdl 2m 4f 4 10-10 134 Kerrymaid H'dle €1,125
Wexford 07/09/19 Put The Kettle On H. Morgan NovCh 2m 4f 1 10-10 133 Audrey McGrath Memorial Rated Nov Schase €12,000
Wexford 07/09/19 Ourauldman H. Morgan HcpHdl 2m 4f 12 11-0 104 Garry Flood Landscaping H'cap H'dle
Kilbeggan 06/09/19 Game Present H. Morgan MdnHdl 2m 3f 110yds 4 11-8 112 Sean Hughes Mem. Opportunity M'dn H'dle €550
Kilbeggan 06/09/19 Full Cry H. Morgan HcpCh 3m 1f 3 11-6 133 Kilsaran H'cap S'chase €2,000
Clonmel 05/09/19 Ourauldman H. Morgan HcpHdl 2m 81yds 4 11-0 104 Lengthen The Odds With BetVictor Hcp Hdl €625
Clonmel 05/09/19 The Three Wizards (GB) H. Morgan MdnHdl 2m 3f 82yds 5 10-6 Kilsheelan (Mares) M'dn H'dle €330

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info