Terence O'Brien

County of origin: Cork

First winner: Glenquest (Kevin Coleman) Listowel, September 17, 2008

Significant horses: Articulum, Glenquest, Ballyadam Brook, Farrells Fancy, She's Got Grit, Ballyadam Approach, Lakemilan, Viaduct Joey, Consharon Boy. 

Assoc. jockeys: David Mullins, Jack Kennedy, Denis O'Regan, Kevin Brouder

Did you know:

Based in Carrigtwohill, County Cork, Terence first held a trainers' licence in the 1990s and and renewed it in 2007. A highly-regarded point-to-point handler, he had runners again on the racecourse in early 2008 and was back among the winners when the Kevin Coleman-ridden Glenquest landed a maiden hurdle at the Listowel Festival in September of that year. 

He has enjoyed plenty of success ever since with the likes of Lakemilan, She's Got Grit and Farrells Fancy scoring notable handicap victories, but Ballyadam Approach has been the biggest winner for the stable. He landed the €100,000 Guinness Handicap Chase at the Punchestown Festival in 2015 having earlier taken the €50,000 BoyleSports Novice Handicap Chase at Fairyhouse on Easter Sunday. He was a three-time winner in all for the stable but O'Brien saddled Ballyadam Brook, no relation to Ballyadam Approach, to win seven races between 2010 and 2014. More recently, the classy novice chaser Articulum has flown the flag for the O'Brien stable. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2018/201910000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2017/201810000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2015/201610000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2014/201561220€6,300€4,670€10,970
Winter All Weather 2013/201482110€10,500€2,340€12,840
National Hunt 2019/2020304714€69,000€60,455€129,455
National Hunt 2018/2019457925€92,188€55,575€147,763
National Hunt 2017/2018643757€27,188€40,425€67,613
National Hunt 2016/2017635776€35,313€37,238€72,550
National Hunt 2015/2016495296€44,225€48,200€92,425
National Hunt 2014/2015566166€150,800€17,505€168,305
National Hunt 2013/2014100611713€65,950€53,675€119,625
National Hunt 2012/201383116513€122,060€42,000€164,060
National Hunt 2011/2012574646€30,800€23,168€53,968
National Hunt 2010/20114871352€63,520€71,262€134,782
National Hunt 2009/20105653104€41,390€18,806€60,196
National Hunt 2008/2009433323€21,280€20,070€41,350
National Hunt 2007/200880120€0€6,040€6,040
Flat 201960002€0€1,375€1,375
Flat 201820000€0€0€0
Flat 201620100€0€3,000€3,000
Flat 201570002€0€925€925
Flat 201471000€11,550€0€11,550
Flat 2013101210€5,950€3,139€9,089
Flat 201220001€0€425€425

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Thurles 21/11/19 Kalli's Quest P.T. Enright MdnHdl 2m 6f 216yds 1 10-13 Thurles Racecourse (Mares) M'dn H'dle
Punchestown 17/11/19 Leahman (GB) K.J. Brouder Hdl 2m 4 11-2 Nally Bros Supp. Longford GAA 3-Y-O Hdle €750
Naas 03/11/19 Lakemilan J.M. Sheridan Mdn 1m 3f 180yds 4 8-11 P & T Stapleton Ltd Sobac Soil M'dn €625
Down-Royal 02/11/19 Leahman (GB) C.P. McNamara Hdl 2m 100yds 6 10-11 Value Cabs 3-Y-O H'dle €300
Clonmel 31/10/19 Kalli's Quest P.T. Enright MdnHdl 2m 3f 152yds 5 10-13 Cahir (Mares) M'dn H'dle €330
Clonmel 31/10/19 Frere Fontaine (FR) F. Maguire HcpHdl 2m 3f 152yds 3 10-11 88 Powerstown Demesne (QR) H'cap H'dle €1,100
Thurles 24/10/19 Frere Fontaine (FR) P.T. Enright HcpHdl 1m 7f 200yds fell 11-1 88 Leugh H'cap H'dle
Cork 20/10/19 Articulum P.T. Enright HcpCh 2m 1f 160yds 2 11-9 146 coopsuperstores.ie H'cap S'chase (Grade B) Grade B €10,000
Cork 20/10/19 Lakemilan C.P. McNamara HcpCh 2m 1f 160yds 1 10-0 130 coopsuperstores.ie H'cap S'chase (Grade B) Grade B €30,000
Gowran-Park 05/10/19 Leahman (GB) K.J. Brouder Hdl 2m 1 10-3 Jack Duggan Memorial 3-Y-O H'dle €9,000
Cork 01/10/19 Lakemilan C.T. Keane Mdn 1m 4f 4 9-6 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Fillies) M'dn €750
Listowel 14/09/19 Buster Dan Dan Katie O'Farrell HcpHdl 2m 4f 13 11-5 100 Doctor Bob H'cap H'dle
Listowel 12/09/19 Lakemilan C.P. McNamara HcpHdl 2m 2 9-4 123 Ladbrokes Ireland Listowel H'cap H'dle (Grade B) Grade B €20,000
Down-Royal 30/08/19 Leahman (GB) D. Meyler MdnHdl 2m 100yds 8 10-12 Allied Bakeries 3-Y-O M'dn H'dle
Killarney 23/08/19 Get A Price P.T. Enright MdnHdl 2m 1f 2 11-4 Get Racing TV For 12.50 Today M'dn Hdle €2,300
Killarney 23/08/19 Lakemilan A.P. Cawley HcpCh 2m 4f 180yds 2 9-11 128 BoyleSports H'cap S'chase (Grade B) Grade B €10,000
Tramore 18/08/19 Our Roxane J.J. Slevin HcpHdl 2m 4 11-7 90 Frank Gillane H'cap H'dle €525
Tramore 16/08/19 Buster Dan Dan C.J. Orr HcpHdl 2m 4f 100yds 11 11-1 103 Assembly Techniques H'cap H'dle
Roscommon 06/08/19 Leahman (GB) D. Meyler MdnHdl 1m 7f 135yds 4 10-12 Railway Bar 3-Y-O M'dn H'dle €575
Wexford 26/07/19 Get A Price P.T. Enright MdnHdl 2m 2 11-4 Liam Leacy Plumbing & Heating M'dn H'dle €2,300

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info