John Joe Walsh

County Of Origin: Cork

Date of licence: 1962

First winner: Grub Stake (John Joe Walsh), Clonmel, March 7th, 1963

Significant horses (selected): Senator Maclacury, Function Dream, Fairy King, Lord Singapore, Rory Anna, Jack Absolute, Page Turner, Cliff House, Ballyegan Hero, Propunt, Pelegro, Davids Charm. 

Assoc. jockeys: Phillip Enright, Ambrose McCurtin, Rachael Blackmore

Did you know:

Grub Stake was John Joe Walsh’s first winner as a trainer when taking the bumper at Clonmel, on Thursday, March 7th, 1963, and for good measure, he rode it himself. Walsh had begun his training career the previous year and along with Kevin Prendergast, is Ireland’s longest serving trainer. No stranger to big-race success over the years, Walsh gained his most valuable win when the Rachael Blackmore-trained Ballyegan Hero took the €100,000 Galway Shopping Centre Handicap Hurdle on the penultimate day of the 2017 Galway festival. Walsh won the Munster National with Pelegro (Liam O'Donnell) in 1975 and Propunt (Trevor Hogan) in 1992. Propunt and Horgan were also successful in the Kerry National in 1992. More recently, Lord Singapore won the Troytown chase at Navan for Walsh in 1996, ridden by David Casey. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2014/201530000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2013/201441001€4,900€350€5,250
Winter All Weather 2012/201321000€7,000€0€7,000
National Hunt 2019/2020615445€115,763€38,863€154,625
National Hunt 2018/20191513497€25,000€35,088€60,088
National Hunt 2017/2018180128914€205,000€58,775€263,775
National Hunt 2016/20171849101812€80,000€73,050€153,050
National Hunt 2015/201618823161912€189,450€65,758€255,208
National Hunt 2014/20151511410914€136,690€41,370€178,060
National Hunt 2013/20141511071716€70,850€35,590€106,440
National Hunt 2012/20131571015115€93,250€40,525€133,775
National Hunt 2011/20121471414157€102,025€45,598€147,623
National Hunt 2010/201110261179€43,590€31,273€74,863
National Hunt 2009/2010949784€60,200€19,908€80,108
National Hunt 2008/200910375115€55,300€26,785€82,085
National Hunt 2007/2008977886€65,450€28,165€93,615
National Hunt 2006/2007650064€0€8,690€8,690
National Hunt 2005/20061075686€45,150€25,200€70,350
National Hunt 2004/200510424210€15,750€16,615€32,365
National Hunt 2003/2004932555€18,900€23,860€42,760
National Hunt 2002/2003824896€38,850€37,445€76,295
National Hunt 2001/2002781243€12,250€12,037€24,287
National Hunt 2000/200114161328€51,996€28,509€80,505
Flat 2019101010€30,000€9,000€39,000
Flat 201871110€7,500€21,563€29,063
Flat 2017290021€0€3,938€3,938
Flat 2016483333€30,625€11,125€41,750
Flat 2015603781€19,950€24,990€44,940
Flat 2014605534€33,600€26,630€60,230
Flat 2013545486€41,200€18,335€59,535
Flat 2012303238€18,900€11,580€30,480
Flat 2011280002€0€3,150€3,150
Flat 2010201103€14,190€7,000€21,190
Flat 2009351430€14,850€20,505€35,355
Flat 2008241203€9,800€15,125€24,925
Flat 2007292121€15,050€6,460€21,510
Flat 2006190000€0€0€0
Flat 200570000€0€0€0
Flat 200430000€0€0€0
Flat 200390010€0€2,000€2,000
Flat 2002150102€0€3,250€3,250
Flat 2001310021€0€2,184€2,184
Flat 2000341113€5,333€4,539€9,872
Flat 1999393337€15,554€8,983€24,537
Flat 1998213122€11,110€2,539€13,650

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Cork 20/10/19 Ballyegan Hero A.W. Short HcpCh 2m 1f 160yds 6 9-7 119 H'cap S'chase (Grade B) Grade B
Tramore 17/10/19 Golden Glen B. Hayes HcpHdl 2m 5f 120yds 1 10-4 86 Tramore Racecourse Instagram H'cap H'dle €7,200
Tramore 17/10/19 Miss Tulpar A. McCurtin HcpHdl 2m u.r. 10-12 85 WIT Students Day H'cap H'dle
Curragh 13/10/19 Davids Charm G.M. Ryan Hcp 2m 5 9-4 94 Tote Irish Cesarewitch €3,000
Tipperary 07/10/19 Ballyegan Hero P.T. Enright NovCh 2m 4f 2 11-3 119 Schooling At Tipperary Rated Nov S'chase €3,200
Tipperary 06/10/19 Davids Charm P.T. Enright Hdl 2m 1 11-0 150 Horse & Jockey Hotel H'dle (Grade 3) Grade 3 €34,500
Gowran-Park 04/10/19 Golden Glen A. McCurtin HcpHdl 2m 4 10-12 86 Watch Irish Racing On Racing TV Hcap Hdl €525
Clonmel 03/10/19 Betterask Jj A. McCurtin HcpHdl 2m 3f 188yds 11 10-9 82 Carrick-On-Suir H'cap H'dle
Clonmel 03/10/19 Live Every Day S. Cavanagh HcpHdl 3m 7 11-0 103 Clonmel H'cap H'dle
Roscommon 30/09/19 Shadows Return F.J. Hayes HcpHdl 1m 7f 80yds u.r. 11-5 102 Service Matters H'cap H'dle
Roscommon 30/09/19 Glebe Girl P.T. Enright MdnHdl 1m 7f 80yds 9 10-13 97 Dysart (Mares) M'dn H'dle
Galway 16/09/19 Betterask Jj P.T. Enright Hdl 2m 2f 204yds 5 10-6 82 It's Our 150th Birthday Claiming H'dle €300
Galway 16/09/19 Miss Tulpar A. McCurtin MdnHdl 2m 130yds 12 11-0 Kenny Developments M'dn H'dle
Galway 16/09/19 Broder A. McCurtin HcpHdl 2m 130yds 8 11-7 109 H'cap H'dle
Listowel 14/09/19 Ballyegan Hero P.T. Enright HcpCh 2m 1f 2 10-10 116 Charlie Chute Memorial H'cap S'chase €5,200
Listowel 12/09/19 Davids Charm P.T. Enright HcpHdl 2m 1 11-4 144 Ladbrokes Ireland Listowel H'cap H'dle (Grade B) Grade B €60,000
Listowel 11/09/19 Aspire To Fly S. Cavanagh MdnHdl 2m 10 10-12 86 M.S.D. Animal Health M'dn H'dle
Listowel 10/09/19 Live Every Day S. Cavanagh HcpHdl 2m 4f 5 10-7 103 Listowel H'cap H'dle €360
Listowel 10/09/19 Glebe Girl P.T. Enright MdnHdl 2m 4f 4 11-7 97 Jet O'Carroll Memorial EBF (M) Mdn H'dle €850
Listowel 08/09/19 Horsenjockey C.D. Maxwell HcpHdl 2m 4f 13 10-4 86 Low Low Irish EBF (Mares) H'cap H'dle

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info