Ted Walsh

County of Origin: Cork

Date of licence: 1991

First winner: Roc De Prince (Brendan Sheridan) Gowran Park, January 17, 1991

Significant horses (selected): Commanche Court, Rince Ri, Papillon, Any Second Now, Roc De Prince, Colbert Station, Alligator Joe, Andy Dufresne, Atlantic Rhapsody, Southern Vic, Windermere, True Blue Victory, Top Strategy, Seabass, Rossvoss Any Second Now, Foxrock. 

Assoc. jockeys: Mark Walsh

Did you know:  

The son of the late trainer Ruby Walsh, Ted Walsh first came to public attention as a top-class amateur rider. An 11-time champion amateur he enjoyed four successes at the Cheltenham Festival. His first was in the 1974 Kim Muir on Castleruddery and he went on to win the Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Handicap Chase in 1976 on Prolan. His biggest Cheltenham Festival success came on Hilly Way in the 1979 Queen Mother Champion Chase on Hilly Way and Ted rode his final winner at the meeting in the 1986 Foxhunter Chase on Attitude Adjuster. Another horse he had great success on was Daring Run which won the 1981 and 1982 Aintree Hurdle and was a close third in the 1981 Champion Hurdle.  

Ted began training following the death of his father and made an immediate impact when winning the Thyestes Chase with the Brendan Sheridan-ridden Roc De Prince at Gowran Park in January, 1991. He has enjoyed tremendous success as a trainer of National Hunt and Flat horses ever since, with the Aintree Grand National success of Papillon, ridden by his son Ruby, in 2000. He trained Commanche Court (Norman Williamson) to win the JCB Triumph Hurdle at Cheltenham in 1997 and gained a second Festival success when the Derek O'Connor-ridden Any Second Now won the Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup in 2019. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2021/202270102€0€4,605€4,605
Winter All Weather 2020/2021121412€6,600€11,640€18,240
Winter All Weather 2018/201981111€9,375€4,488€13,863
Winter All Weather 2015/201610000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2014/201561122€7,000€5,025€12,025
Winter All Weather 2012/201361200€7,000€3,400€10,400
Winter All Weather 2011/201230200€0€3,060€3,060
National Hunt 2021/2022362235€34,800€20,195€54,995
National Hunt 2020/2021556597€59,700€54,730€114,430
National Hunt 2019/2020573388€42,000€59,875€101,875
National Hunt 2018/20196296811€77,813€63,838€141,650
National Hunt 2017/2018513538€23,438€48,663€72,100
National Hunt 2016/20176211486€104,513€30,638€135,150
National Hunt 2015/2016507476€89,390€62,374€151,764
National Hunt 2014/2015565865€89,700€100,445€190,145
National Hunt 2013/2014365743€74,250€34,615€108,865
National Hunt 2012/20133711543€202,940€24,530€227,470
National Hunt 2011/201255156212€230,750€24,365€255,115
National Hunt 2010/2011531443€5,250€16,930€22,180
National Hunt 2009/201086961011€84,550€22,912€107,462
National Hunt 2008/20097122810€26,920€31,568€58,488
National Hunt 2007/2008907792€62,300€30,445€92,745
National Hunt 2006/20071108121210€93,770€77,120€170,890
National Hunt 2005/20069710101012€184,750€95,540€280,290
National Hunt 2004/20051171010107€141,150€103,825€244,975
National Hunt 2003/200410210131312€136,350€120,280€256,630
National Hunt 2002/20031369121313€133,850€124,095€257,945
National Hunt 2001/200216522142017€286,164€174,324€460,488
National Hunt 2000/20011121113128€189,280€95,615€284,895
Flat 2021393165€22,800€21,450€44,250
Flat 2020201221€6,600€8,300€14,900
Flat 2019190331€0€21,490€21,490
Flat 2018261122€15,625€8,113€23,738
Flat 2017110100€0€3,600€3,600
Flat 2016110113€0€6,300€6,300
Flat 2015100001€0€575€575
Flat 2014140111€0€4,325€4,325
Flat 2013120130€0€3,760€3,760
Flat 2012120100€0€4,200€4,200
Flat 2011152312€22,920€16,025€38,945
Flat 2010283162€27,490€12,825€40,315
Flat 2009172020€11,900€1,480€13,380
Flat 2008251431€7,700€28,420€36,120
Flat 2007151020€7,350€2,040€9,390
Flat 2006281230€7,350€8,765€16,115
Flat 2005190120€0€5,375€5,375
Flat 2004334102€64,150€3,300€67,450
Flat 2003312443€17,500€22,450€39,950
Flat 2002241302€66,000€13,670€79,670
Flat 2001220012€0€12,088€12,088
Flat 2000251121€11,110€5,358€16,469
Flat 1999341338€4,444€13,138€17,582
Flat 1998230040€0€2,590€2,590

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Dundalk 14/01/22 Chummie Chloe Byrne Hcp 1m 5 9-1 57 Join On Instagram @dundalk_stadium Hcap (Div 1)
Fairyhouse 09/01/22 Batcio (FR) S. O'Callaghan HcpCh 2m 1f 4 9-5 130 Dan & Joan Moore Memorial H'cap S'chase (Grade A) Grade A €4,000
Naas 02/01/22 Hardwired S. O'Callaghan HcpHdl 2m 3f 7 10-13 102 Adare Manor Opportunity H'cap H'dle
Navan 18/12/21 Be Fierce S. O'Callaghan MdnHdl 2m 11 11-2 Navan Ford M'dn H'dle
Navan 18/12/21 Any Second Now Rachael Blackmore HcpHdl 2m 4f 9 11-7 139 Tara H'cap H'dle (Grade B) Grade B
Dundalk 17/12/21 Castletownshend N.M. Crosse Hcp 7f 6 9-2 64 BetVictor Proud To Supp Irish Racing Hcp (Div 2) €220
Dundalk 17/12/21 Ferrybank (GB) C.D. Hayes Hcp 7f 4 8-6 81 Crowne Plaza Hotel H'cap €1,050
Tramore 09/12/21 Hardwired D.F. O'Regan BegCh 2m 5f 100yds 7 12-0 Doneraile Walk Beginners S'chase
Fairyhouse 27/11/21 Dewcup M.P. Walsh BegCh 2m 5f p.u. 12-0 Jim Ryan Racecourse Services Beg S'chase
Dundalk 17/11/21 Approbare Chloe Byrne Mdn 6f 5 8-11 55 Crowne Plaza Hotel Leading Jockey M'dn €360
Limerick 16/11/21 Eternal Story (FR) S. O'Callaghan MdnHdl 2m 3f 2 11-7 LimerickRaces.ie M'dn H'dle €2,000
Limerick 16/11/21 Hardwired S. O'Callaghan HcpHdl 2m 5f 5 11-7 102 Bruff H'cap H'dle €300
Punchestown 14/11/21 Batcio (FR) D.N. Russell HcpCh 2m 6f 140yds 5 11-9 130 Ryans Cleaning H'cap S'chase €1,200
Punchestown 13/11/21 Dewcup S.F. O'Keeffe BegCh 2m 3f 150yds 2 12-0 BetVictor Loyalty Club Beginners S'chase €2,500
Dundalk 10/11/21 Castletownshend W.M. Lordan Hcp 1m 5 9-13 65 Book Online At DundalkStadium.com H'cap €315
Navan 07/11/21 Pure Genius (FR) M.P. Walsh BegCh 2m 1f p.u. 12-0 Irish Stallion Farms EBF Beg. S'chase
Laytown 01/11/21 Castletownshend T. Hamilton Hcp 7f 4 11-5 66 O'Neills Sports (QR) H'cap €460
Laytown 01/11/21 Approbare Rachael Blackmore Mdn 7f 2 10-3 54 Pride Of Place M'dn €2,200
Naas 31/10/21 Indulging (GB) W.J. Lee Hcp 1m 2f 13 9-5 79 Congratulations To Flat Champions H'cap
Curragh 26/10/21 Ta Na La (USA) N.M. Crosse Hcp 1m 6 8-7 69 Paddy Power 'Play Card' Nursery H'cap €310

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info