Dermot Weld

County Of Origin: Kildare

Date of licence: 1972

First winner: Spanner, Baldoyle, January 1st, 1972

1,000th winner: Slane Castle (Michael Kinane) Phoenix Park, June 12th, 1985

2,000th winner: Fortune And Fame (Brendan Sheridan) Leopardstown, December 29th, 1993

3,000th winner: Fandango Dancer (Pat Smullen) Fairyhouse, August 22nd, 2004

4,000th winner: Sea Swift (Pat Smullen) Naas, June 22nd, 2016

Significant horses (selected): Zhukova, Harzand, Fascinating Rock, Tarnawa, Free Eagle, Voleuse De Coeurs, Emulous, Famous Name, Rite Of Passage, Vinnie Roe, Vintage Crop, Zagreb, Grey Swallow, Bethrah, Dance Design, Media Puzzle, Blue Wind, Princess Polly, Go And Go, Trusted Partner, Committed, Refuse To Bend, Ansar, Kiichi, Rare Holiday, General Idea, Perris Valley, Fortune And Fame, Search For A Song. 

Assoc. jockeys: Oisin Orr 

Visit his Website  

Follow him on Facebook  

Did you know:

The Weld name will always be associated with the Curragh, with Charlie Weld having established himself as a top-class trainer at Rosewell House before his son Dermot took over the reins in 1972. With the famous yard located just yards from the entrance to the Curragh racecourse, Dermot has consistently been among Ireland’s most successful trainers and is rightfully acclaimed as one of the best trainers in the world. Dermot saddled two winners on his first day as a trainer at Baldoyle on New Year's Day, 1972. Spanner was his first winner but he quickly followed up with Chevy Chase, who he rode himself, in the second division of the bumper.

A qualified vet, Weld was a very accomplished amateur jockey in his younger years. He is renowned for sending his charges all over the world to compete in the best races, being the only European trainer to have saddled the winner of the prestigious Melbourne Cup in Australia, a feat he achieved with the brilliant Vintage Crop in 1993 and again with Media Puzzle in 2002. Vintage Crop also won the Irish St Leger in 1993 and 1994 as well as the Curragh Cup in 1993 and 1995 and this famous horse has a life-sized bronze statue of himself overlooking the parade ring at the racecourse itself.

Weld has won all five Irish Classics, with his first success coming with Blue Wind in the 1981 Irish Oaks having earlier captured the English equivalent. Dance Design gave him a second Irish Oaks in 1996 while he also captured the Irish 1,000 Guineas with Princes Polly in 1982, Trusted Partner in 1988, Nightime in 2006 and Bethrah in 2010. He won the Irish 2,000 Guineas with Flash Of Steel in 1986 and the Irish Derby with Zagreb in 1996, Grey Swallow in 2004 and Harzand, who became the 18th horse to complete the Epsom/Irish Derby double in 2016.

Weld has a better record in the Irish St Leger which he has won on a record-equalling nine occasions. Vintage Crop was the winner in 1993 and 1994 while Vinnie Roe won the race on four successive occasions from 2001 to 2004 and in 2013, he struck with Voleuse De Coeurs. Search For A Song won back-to-back Irish St Legers in 2019 and 2020. 

He was also successful in the 2003 English 2,000 Guineas at Newmarket with Refuse To Bend and he gained his 23rd European Classic success and arguably his biggest win when Harzand won the Epsom Derby on June 4th, 2016. Weld is also the only European trainer to win a leg of the American Triple Crown after Go And Go sprang a surprise victory in the 1990 Belmont Stakes and he has consistently bagged big American races in recent years with the likes of Pine Dance, Dimitrova, Jazz Beat and Winchester. Additional Risk was the first winner of the Hong Kong Bowl at Sha Tin  in 1991.

On August 22nd, 2004, Dermot Weld achieved a notable milestone when Fandango Dancer became the 3,000th winner of a truly magnificent career when winning under Pat Smullen at Fairyhouse. His 4,000th career success came at Naas on Wednesday, June 22nd, 2016 when Sea Swift, also ridden by Pat Smullen, landed the concluding fillies' maiden on the card.

Dermot became the fifth Irish trainer to land a Breeders' Cup success when Tarnawa and Colin Keane won the Breeders' Cup Turf at Keeneland in November 2020.  

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2022/2023120002€0€1,395€1,395
Winter All Weather 2021/2022192114€13,200€6,260€19,460
Winter All Weather 2020/2021140000€0€1,530€1,530
Winter All Weather 2019/2020210202€0€8,070€8,070
Winter All Weather 2018/2019146211€52,188€6,875€59,063
Winter All Weather 2017/2018120034€0€6,700€6,700
Winter All Weather 2016/2017162231€13,750€9,925€23,675
Winter All Weather 2015/2016152213€15,400€6,445€21,845
Winter All Weather 2014/2015132013€14,000€3,625€17,625
Winter All Weather 2013/2014141230€8,750€5,300€14,050
Winter All Weather 2012/2013121013€7,000€3,525€10,525
Winter All Weather 2011/201251000€26,400€0€26,400
National Hunt 2022/2023101201€7,500€6,285€13,785
National Hunt 2021/202272020€15,900€5,900€21,800
National Hunt 2020/202161102€7,200€4,370€11,570
National Hunt 2019/202083100€25,913€4,710€30,623
National Hunt 2018/2019131410€7,500€14,825€22,325
National Hunt 2017/2018163130€23,438€7,150€30,588
National Hunt 2016/2017203233€20,938€23,188€44,125
National Hunt 2015/201650910106€78,475€46,690€125,165
National Hunt 2014/20154351445€37,450€61,675€99,125
National Hunt 2013/20144610832€75,360€42,218€117,578
National Hunt 2012/20135510565€69,900€49,785€119,685
National Hunt 2011/20124416635€263,700€42,375€306,075
National Hunt 2010/20115416947€277,220€87,165€364,385
National Hunt 2009/20106214776€190,705€42,085€232,790
National Hunt 2008/20095016754€147,170€63,555€210,725
National Hunt 2007/20086212579€96,950€58,160€155,110
National Hunt 2006/2007459854€139,470€83,875€223,345
National Hunt 2005/200664121076€245,500€75,430€320,930
National Hunt 2004/200571191076€300,860€63,330€364,190
National Hunt 2003/200468131253€139,100€53,935€193,035
National Hunt 2002/20036091054€113,050€108,010€221,060
National Hunt 2001/20025473710€193,284€45,701€238,985
National Hunt 2000/2001398714€64,071€56,243€120,314
Flat 20235381398€346,700€97,255€443,955
Flat 202229322323427€799,400€373,515€1,172,915
Flat 202137445384836€562,200€631,005€1,193,205
Flat 202037140393445€658,900€375,775€1,034,675
Flat 201940056414044€1,435,100€507,093€1,942,193
Flat 201834953504845€884,113€463,144€1,347,256
Flat 201733644443125€847,763€398,838€1,246,600
Flat 201644587655635€2,322,825€563,713€2,886,538
Flat 201541076735148€1,559,940€738,065€2,298,005
Flat 201441292484342€1,693,400€538,910€2,232,310
Flat 201341563465850€945,595€401,448€1,347,043
Flat 201242361635250€1,170,440€511,937€1,682,377
Flat 201143574404245€1,302,250€404,796€1,707,046
Flat 201043871694532€1,380,815€462,950€1,843,765
Flat 200953570556462€1,316,010€548,913€1,864,923
Flat 200849065766245€1,294,580€1,097,610€2,392,190
Flat 200751367604951€971,285€778,330€1,749,615
Flat 200638968603743€1,211,100€474,650€1,685,750
Flat 200552664655958€1,026,350€775,315€1,801,665
Flat 200454061676064€1,863,520€793,675€2,657,195
Flat 200356190736160€1,553,885€812,330€2,366,215
Flat 200256264626852€1,587,790€692,470€2,280,260
Flat 200153182967251€1,697,680€836,000€2,533,680
Flat 200056284716158€846,561€431,842€1,278,403
Flat 199950078547349€860,262€413,720€1,273,982
Flat 199854083866556€881,311€318,114€1,199,425

Date From
Date To