Paul Nolan

Date of licence: 1996

First winner: Nibalda (Joe Casey) Leopardstown, March 8, 1998

Significant horses (selected): Joncol, Cuan Na Grai, Cloone River, Say Again, Mrs Milner, Defy Logic, Noble Prince, Dabiroun, Latest Exhibition, High Prospect, Colnel Rayburn, Accordion Etoile, Kill Devil Hill, French Accordian, Alpha Ridge, Torduff Boy, Sheer Frustration, Moskova, Panther Claw.  

Assoc. jockeys: Bryan Cooper

Did you know:

Paul enjoyed tremendous success throughout the 'noughties' becoming only the the second trainer to train three Galway hurdle winners, a remarkable feat he achieved in the space of just six years. He landed the most competitive handicap hurdle of the summer season with Say Again in 2002, with Cloone River in 2004 and with Cuan na Grai in 2006. In between, the Nina Carberry-ridden Dabiroun became his first Cheltenham Festival winner in 2005 when taking the Fred Winter Handicap Hurdle. 

A second Cheltenham victory came Paul's way in 2011 when Noble Prince won the JLT Novices' Chase. Paul has won eight Grade 1 races in Ireland. His first top-flight winner was the John Cullen-ridden Say Again in the Swordlestown Cup Novice Chase at the Punchestown Festival in 2004. Paul won the Hennessy Gold Cup at Leopardstown in 2010 with Joncol, ridden by Alain Cawley and the Mark Walsh-ridden Defy Logic won the Racing Post Novice Chase at Leopardstown in December, 2013.

Leopardstown was again the venue of the stable's latest top-flight success. Latest Exhibition won the Nathaniel Lacy Solicitors Novice Hurdle under Bryan Cooper at the Dublin Racing Festival in February 2020 and lost out by only a neck when runner-up to Monkfish in the Albert Bartlett Novices´ Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival the following month. Nolan had better luck at the Cheltenham Festival the following year when he won the Pertemps Network Final Handicap Hurdle with the Bryan Cooper-ridden Mrs Milner, his third Festival success. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2020/202130001€0€770€770
Winter All Weather 2015/201670010€0€640€640
Winter All Weather 2013/201410000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2022/2023371223€7,500€12,265€19,765
National Hunt 2021/202224328271416€196,500€135,230€331,730
National Hunt 2020/202126011231816€82,500€177,515€260,015
National Hunt 2019/202016415212411€224,050€187,170€411,220
National Hunt 2018/201921020212517€225,000€172,775€397,775
National Hunt 2017/201815513211712€142,188€113,325€255,513
National Hunt 2016/20171385101112€35,625€61,463€97,088
National Hunt 2015/201617214191718€147,775€91,560€239,335
National Hunt 2014/201519822252014€156,800€110,200€267,000
National Hunt 2013/201420024141420€266,140€78,120€344,260
National Hunt 2012/201316714181810€156,450€151,498€307,948
National Hunt 2011/201221018171814€171,130€125,635€296,765
National Hunt 2010/201128132262523€379,055€207,375€586,430
National Hunt 2009/201023233352519€492,903€189,867€682,769
National Hunt 2008/200926132341823€461,920€182,175€644,095
National Hunt 2007/200836033281733€402,175€144,565€546,740
National Hunt 2006/200738734363622€435,110€252,030€687,140
National Hunt 2005/200639940422725€627,990€221,135€849,125
National Hunt 2004/200534033403226€469,750€261,285€731,035
National Hunt 2003/200427327232427€363,930€192,950€556,880
National Hunt 2002/20031822716513€431,470€65,520€496,990
National Hunt 2001/200221721221618€205,218€91,682€296,900
National Hunt 2000/200124019242321€143,893€92,370€236,264
Flat 202251000€30,000€0€30,000
Flat 2021100100€0€3,300€3,300
Flat 202010000€0€0€0
Flat 2019110000€0€600€600
Flat 201820000€0€0€0
Flat 201720001€0€825€825
Flat 2016201032€5,625€4,600€10,225
Flat 201590202€0€5,010€5,010
Flat 201430000€0€0€0
Flat 201310000€0€0€0
Flat 201260100€0€1,360€1,360
Flat 201140000€0€1,800€1,800
Flat 2010190002€0€1,210€1,210
Flat 2009141100€7,350€1,785€9,135
Flat 2008291222€16,500€13,475€29,975
Flat 2007291212€7,700€6,025€13,725
Flat 2006181200€6,300€4,165€10,465
Flat 2005392512€59,100€49,970€109,070
Flat 2004363513€37,050€40,835€77,885
Flat 2003375245€101,800€23,550€125,350
Flat 2002262330€16,800€10,530€27,330
Flat 2001272410€13,332€7,815€21,148
Flat 2000220015€0€2,520€2,520
Flat 199950220€0€3,278€3,278

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Cork 12/08/22 Winterscape (GB) C.D. Hayes Mdn 1m 4f 12 9-8 Newmarket M'dn
Tramore 12/08/22 Free View S.W. Flanagan MdnHdl 2m 5f 8 11-7 MM Halley Solicitors (Mares) M'dn H'dle
Tramore 12/08/22 Dot Cotton S.F. O'Keeffe MdnHdl 2m 5f 6 11-7 MM Halley Solicitors (Mares) M'dn H'dle
Tramore 12/08/22 Mullins Cross R. Deegan HcpHdl 2m 9 10-10 91 Tom Murphy Mercedes (Mares) H'cap H'dle
Wexford 05/08/22 Homard De Chausey (FR) R. Deegan HcpHdl 3m 11 11-2 83 Think Print & Design H'cap H'dle
Galway 25/07/22 Hms Seahorse S.F. O'Keeffe NovHdl 2m 130yds 3 11-7 132 Galmont & Nov. H'dle €2,100
Limerick 21/07/22 Chiricahua S.F. O'Keeffe Hdl 2m 4f 3 11-5 119 Shoe Rescue H'dle €1,400
Tipperary 17/07/22 Mullins Cross S.F. O'Keeffe HcpCh 2m 170yds p.u. 11-3 91 Jim Ryan Racecourse Services H'cap Chase
Curragh 17/07/22 Winterscape (GB) W.J. Lee Mdn 1m 4f 8 9-8 Aquaturf M'dn
Kilbeggan 15/07/22 Free View R. Deegan MdnHdl 1m 7f 50yds 9 10-11 Tom McCormack Memorial Cup M'dn H'dle
Cork 08/07/22 Mont De Pail (FR) S.F. O'Keeffe MdnHdl 2m 190yds 13 11-7 Sign Up To Our Newsletter M'dn H'dle
Cork 08/07/22 Dympnas Well (FR) G. Brouder HcpHdl 2m 4f 13 11-9 109 Follow Us On Instagram (M) H'cap H'dle
Roscommon 04/07/22 Free View K. Hynes NHF 1m 7f 90yds 5 11-4 EBF (Mares)(Ladies Pro/Am) INH Flat Race €330
Bellewstown 02/07/22 Homard De Chausey (FR) Kieran Callaghan HcpHdl 2m 4f 7 11-1 86 Adare Manor Opportunity H'cap H'dle (Div 2)
Wexford 01/07/22 Mister Bells Kieran Callaghan HcpCh 2m 4f 6 9-11 112 Molloy Metals Wexford GAA H'cap S'chase €440
Wexford 01/07/22 Mullins Cross R. Deegan BegCh 2m 6 11-5 Shamrock Enterprises Beginners S'chase €230
Wexford 01/07/22 Dot Cotton S.F. O'Keeffe MdnHdl 2m 4f 150yds 4 11-5 Neville Hotels M'dn H'dle €525
Wexford 01/07/22 Nobrainnoheadache S.F. O'Keeffe HcpHdl 2m p.u. 11-2 82 Tote H'cap H'dle
Tipperary 30/06/22 Hoganville S.F. O'Keeffe HcpHdl 3m 9 11-5 86 Follow H'cap H'dle
Curragh 26/06/22 Hms Seahorse C.D. Hayes Hcp 1m 4f 1 9-0 82 Irish Stallion Farms EBF 'Ragusa' H'cap €30,000

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info