Dermot McLoughlin

County Of Origin: Dublin 

Date of licence: 2010

First winner: Ocean Bright - Roscommon, August 16th, 2010 

Irish Grand National winner: Freewheelin Dylan (Ricky Doyle) Fairyhouse, April 5, 2021

Significant horses (selected): Freewheelin Dylan, Vics Canvas, Westerners Son, Shamiran, Canardier, Dragon Fei, Turbojet, Dromore Lad, Dixie Lee, Commander Won, Santa Rossa, Monaco Rose, Opposites Attract, Captain Cj, Thunderosa, New Magic, Sadler's Mark, Ocean Bright. 

Did you know:

Dermot McLoughlin spent his early years working for the Dreaper family following in his father's and uncle's footsteps. His father Liam was the first jockey to win on the legendary Arkle and also won many of the big races in his career, including the Irish Grand National and the Thyestes Chase on the Tom Dreaper-trained Kerforo in 1962, the Thyestes for a second time three years later on Fort Leney and he also enjoyed success in races such as the Leopardstown Chase and Sun Alliance Novice Chase.

Dermot didn't enjoy the same glory in his riding days but training winners came little easier. He enjoyed his first winner as a trainer when his first runner, Ocean Bright, won at Roscommon in August, 2010. He recorded no shortage of success in the point-to-point field and on the racecourse proper in his early days with a licence with the admirable Vics Canvas being the standard bearer. He also enjoyed repeated success with the likes of Ocean Bright and Sadlers Mark. Vics Canvas gave the yard their biggest win (at the time) when landing the Cork Grand National in early November, 2014. He ran the race of his life to finish third to Rule The World in the Aintree Grand National in April, 2016 at 13 years of age.

But a bigger day was to come at his local track when the Ricky Doyle-ridden Freewheelin Dylan won the BoyleSports Irish Grand National at Fairyhouse in April 2021. Owned by Sheila Mangan, who works for Dermot, he was returned at a price of 150/1, the longest-priced winner of the race in it's 150 year history. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2020/2021120000€0€730€730
Winter All Weather 2019/2020172131€12,000€6,700€18,700
Winter All Weather 2018/2019271135€10,625€13,650€24,275
Winter All Weather 2017/2018182330€13,750€12,725€26,475
Winter All Weather 2016/2017140012€0€1,800€1,800
Winter All Weather 2015/2016172023€11,900€3,440€15,340
Winter All Weather 2014/201510000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2013/201470101€0€2,200€2,200
Winter All Weather 2012/2013110011€0€5,350€5,350
Winter All Weather 2011/201291000€3,920€0€3,920
National Hunt 2021/20221147475€53,100€30,640€83,740
National Hunt 2020/202116013131319€343,000€85,105€428,105
National Hunt 2019/2020115126109€120,188€48,288€168,475
National Hunt 2018/20191471111148€130,625€72,988€203,613
National Hunt 2017/20181311381011€100,000€44,838€144,838
National Hunt 2016/2017111741012€59,063€36,625€95,688
National Hunt 2015/20167411567€95,600€26,943€122,543
National Hunt 2014/2015473425€48,750€29,750€78,500
National Hunt 2013/2014625243€42,650€7,149€49,799
National Hunt 2012/2013472228€15,400€14,230€29,630
National Hunt 2011/2012261041€7,350€3,070€10,420
National Hunt 2010/2011223241€18,200€6,688€24,888
Flat 202160000€0€0€0
Flat 202060000€0€0€0
Flat 2019523032€30,375€6,110€36,485
Flat 2018304313€32,500€17,450€49,950
Flat 2017213204€41,188€8,025€49,213
Flat 2016290030€0€7,248€7,248
Flat 2015221112€7,700€5,220€12,920
Flat 2014211231€12,600€11,955€24,555
Flat 2013230321€0€7,830€7,830
Flat 2012284132€51,900€12,400€64,300
Flat 2011251102€4,900€4,750€9,650
Flat 201030000€0€0€0

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Punchestown 13/10/21 Rocky Court A.W. Short HcpHdl 2m 9 12-0 107 Welcome Back Racing H'cap H'dle
Punchestown 12/10/21 Allduckornodinner J. Townend HcpCh 2m 7f 200yds 7 10-11 97 Ladbrokes (QR) H'cap S'chase
Limerick 10/10/21 Turbojet (GB) A.W. Short HcpHdl 3m 3 11-1 114 David Fitzgerald Memorial H'cap H'dle €1,450
Fairyhouse 09/10/21 Lord Lariat P.J. O'Hanlon HcpCh 2m 7f 160yds 2 11-10 121 Adare Manor Opportunity H'cap S'chase €3,500
Fairyhouse 09/10/21 Massons Castle (GB) P.J. O'Hanlon HcpHdl 2m 9 10-4 99 Welcome Back To Fairyhouse H'cap H'dle
Downpatrick 08/10/21 Top Basanta C.D. Maxwell MdnHdl 2m 2f 165yds 4 11-7 Randox Health M'dn H'dle €500
Killarney 03/10/21 Wa Wa B.J. Cooper BegCh 2m 7f 1 12-0 111 Killarney Oaks Hotel Beginners S'chase €6,600
Tipperary 03/10/21 Howyated R.A. Doyle HcpHdl 3m p.u. 11-1 82 McGrath Oil Emily H'cap H'dle
Tipperary 03/10/21 Laughing Trix P.J. O'Hanlon HcpHdl 3m 3 10-10 84 McGrath Oil Emily H'cap H'dle €1,000
Tipperary 03/10/21 Lord Lariat P.J. O'Hanlon HcpHdl 3m 7 11-7 109 Tipperary Races On Twitter H'cap H'dle
Killarney 03/10/21 Digby R. Deegan NovHdl 2m 6f 180yds 1 10-11 109 Killarney Plaza Hotel Rated Novice H'dle €8,700
Gowran-Park 01/10/21 Ocean Legacy P.J. O'Hanlon HcpHdl 2m 4f 15 10-4 85 Race Displays H'cap H'dle
Gowran-Park 01/10/21 Sand And Water C.D. Maxwell HcpHdl 2m 13 11-6 86 Watch Irish Racing On Racing TV Hcap Hdl
Bellewstown 30/09/21 Santorini Sun Izzy Clifton Hcp 1m 3f 211yds 7 8-8 49 Byrne Marquees H'cap (Div 1)
Listowel 24/09/21 Santa Maria F. Maguire NHF 2m 18 11-9 Irish EBF (Mares) (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race
Listowel 19/09/21 Lanziano (FR) A.W. Short MdnHdl 3m 6 12-0 Dairygold M'dn H'dle €240
Navan 18/09/21 Top Basanta A.W. Short MdnHdl 1m 7f 170yds 13 11-7 Download The Bar One Racing App Mdn Hdle
Navan 18/09/21 Sand And Water C.D. Maxwell HcpHdl 1m 7f 170yds 7 11-3 87 Bar One Racing Extra Place H'cap H'dle
Navan 18/09/21 Allduckornodinner HcpHdl 2m 5f 170yds 8 11-3 95 Bar One Racing €30 New Account Hcap Hdle (Div 1)
Navan 18/09/21 Drifters Mate P.J. O'Hanlon MdnHdl 1m 7f 170yds 14 11-7 Download The Bar One Racing App Mdn Hdle

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info