Matthew Smith

County of origin: Meath

Date of licence: 2012

First winner: Gretzky (Ross E O'Sullivan) Dundalk, January 11, 2013

Notable horses: One Cool Poet, Gretzky, Rawnaq, Empresario, Shalaman, Winter Lion, Prince Garyantle, Maeve's Choice, Ronald Pump. 

Assoc. Jockeys: Billy Lee

Did you know:

From Kilmessan, County Meath, Matthew Smith took out his trainer's licence in December 2012 and was on the mark the following month when Gretzky won at Dundalk on January 11. Matthew enjoyed notable success with Rawnaq which counted the Grade 2 Flying Bolt Novice Chase at Navan in February 2015 among his wins before continuing his career in America.

Smith achieved the remarkable feat of training the same horse to win three times at the Galway Festival in 2019. One Cool Poet became only the second horse to win three races at the same festival and the first to win three races on the Flat. The seven-year-old won the Caulfield Industrial Handicap over a mile and 123 yards on the Tuesday evening, followed up in the Open Gate Pure Brew Handicap over a mile and a half on Thursday and went into the record books when scoring a five-length victory in the McDonogh Capital Investments Handicap over one mile, three furlongs and 180 yards on Saturday. Billy Lee was in the saddle on each occasion. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2021/2022191202€7,200€5,750€12,950
Winter All Weather 2020/2021204201€26,100€7,430€33,530
Winter All Weather 2019/202080000€0€330€330
Winter All Weather 2018/201940100€0€2,000€2,000
Winter All Weather 2017/201890000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2016/2017192200€30,000€5,025€35,025
Winter All Weather 2015/201642000€11,200€0€11,200
Winter All Weather 2014/2015102012€23,700€1,725€25,425
Winter All Weather 2013/201452200€14,000€4,335€18,335
Winter All Weather 2012/201352002€12,600€900€13,500
National Hunt 2022/2023827924€58,500€32,455€90,955
National Hunt 2021/202214610121411€67,500€91,495€158,995
National Hunt 2020/20217611659€107,400€70,375€177,775
National Hunt 2019/2020617869€51,100€73,308€124,408
National Hunt 2018/20199293714€111,125€32,663€143,788
National Hunt 2017/20189475811€60,938€31,288€92,225
National Hunt 2016/2017525234€48,125€10,025€58,150
National Hunt 2015/2016303231€31,150€12,890€44,040
National Hunt 2014/2015413224€40,400€8,075€48,475
National Hunt 2013/2014284430€40,650€7,627€48,277
National Hunt 2012/201310000€0€0€0
Flat 2022698436€85,800€21,465€107,265
Flat 2021726667€66,000€54,880€120,880
Flat 2020778895€63,000€47,470€110,470
Flat 2019498444€171,388€50,620€222,008
Flat 2018393342€28,438€15,325€43,763
Flat 2017111110€7,500€3,850€11,350
Flat 2016152010€11,719€1,850€13,569
Flat 201590012€0€12,690€12,690
Flat 2014112130€17,850€8,300€26,150
Flat 2013111111€7,000€6,860€13,860

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Curragh 24/09/22 Master Matt (GB) S.M. Crosse Hcp 5f 15 9-11 92 William Hill Joe McGrath H'cap
Curragh 24/09/22 Mads Black Eights R. Whearty Hcp 1m 10 9-7 63 Tipperary Crystal Apprentice H'cap
Listowel 24/09/22 Sekifi D.J. O'Keeffe HcpHdl 2m 4f p.u. 10-12 89 Kathleen Walsh Memorial H'cap H'dle (Div 1)
Listowel 24/09/22 Applejack Poet K.M. Donoghue HcpHdl 2m 4f 16 11-12 100 Kathleen Walsh Memorial H'cap H'dle (Div 2)
Listowel 23/09/22 Gigantamax Eevee J. Kelly Smith NHF 2m 13 11-2 Shanahan Ir. EBF (M) (P-A) INH Flat Race
Listowel 23/09/22 Moonovercloon K.M. Donoghue MdnHdl 2m 4f 5 11-12 John J.Galvin M'dn H'dle
Listowel 22/09/22 Snag It D.P. McDonogh Hcp 1m 1f 10 9-11 75 Tote Ireland H'cap
Listowel 22/09/22 Goonyaboyya D.P. McDonogh Hcp 1m 4f 8 9-8 64 Kevin McManus Bookmaker H'cap
Listowel 22/09/22 Excuzio Joe J. Coen Hcp 1m 1f 11 9-10 79 Tote Ireland H'cap
Listowel 22/09/22 One Cool Poet D. McMonagle Hcp 1m 4f 8 8-10 82 Listowel Printing Works H'cap
Listowel 22/09/22 Blackcastle Storm (GB) C.T. Keane Hcp 1m 1f 13 9-8 72 Tote Ireland H'cap
Listowel 21/09/22 Arabian King (GB) B.J. Cooper HcpHdl 3m 9 11-0 118 Devon Inn Hotel H'cap H'dle
Listowel 21/09/22 Greatmindstinkalik MdnHdl 2m 12 11-0 McSweeney Brothers M'dn H'dle
Listowel 21/09/22 Another Choice P. Townend HcpHdl 3m 6 11-4 122 Devon Inn Hotel H'cap H'dle €350
Listowel 21/09/22 Flaming Moon B.J. Cooper NovHdl 2m 2 11-7 122 Seamus Mulvaney Bookmaker Novice H'dle €3,600
Listowel 21/09/22 Bigz Belief K.M. Donoghue BegCh 2m 6f 7 11-12 Brandon Hotel Beginners S'chase
Listowel 21/09/22 Ronald Pump (GB) Aidan Coleman HcpCh 3m 9 10-12 149 Guinness Kerry National H'cap S'chase (Grade A) Grade A
Listowel 20/09/22 One Cool Poet J. Coen Hcp 1m 14 8-9 82 Listowel Arms Hotel H'cap
Listowel 19/09/22 Endlessly P.J. Carberry HcpHdl 2m 4f 9 11-2 104 Kevin's Bar/Exchange Inn H'cap H'dle
Navan 17/09/22 Another Choice P. Townend Hdl 2m 5f 150yds 2 11-1 122 Bar One Racing Quick Deposit H'dle €2,800

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info