Johnny Murtagh

County Of Origin: Meath 

Date of license: 2013 

First winner: Benbecula (Ben Curtis), Tramore, June 1, 2013

First Group 1 winner (as a trainer): Champers Elysees (Colin Keane) (Matron Stakes) Leopardstown, September, 2020 

First Classic winner (as a trainer): Sonnyboyliston (Ben Coen) (Comer Group International Irish St Leger), Curragh, September, 2021 

Significant Horses (Selected): Champers Elysees, Sonnyboyliston; Ottoman Emperor, True Valour, Mutual Regard, Purr Along, Belle De Crecy, Duchess Andorra, Urban Beat, Stroll Patrol, Royal Diamond, Dalkova, Rich Coast, Hawke, Earlswood, Create Belief. 


Follow Johnny on Twitter: @JohnnyMurtagh

Did you know?

Johnny Murtagh was widely considered to be one of the greatest big-race jockeys in the world for the better part of 20 years. He enjoyed considerable success in the saddle across the globe. Initially associated with John Oxx, who was to provide him with superstars such as Ridgewood Pearl, Sinndar and Alamshar to ride, Murtagh was crowned champion apprentice in 1989 and champion jockey on five occasions, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2009 and 2011. 

He left Oxx to ride as a freelance in 2003 and later teamed up with Aidan O'Brien. He rode an array of Group 1 winners for Ballydoyle in 2006 and was confirmed as retained jockey to the Coolmore partners the following year. Together they enjoyed huge success. However, they parted ways at the backend of 2010 and Murtagh was snapped up as retained rider to the Aga Khan in Ireland, effectively making him John Oxx’s stable jockey once again.

In 2012, as having become heavily involved with trainer Tommy Carmody who was operating out of Murtagh’s yard on the Curragh, a disagreement with the Aga Khan led to him losing his job. Murtagh took out his trainer’s license and enjoyed a remarkable season both as a trainer and rider in 2013, riding five Group 1 winners as well as being crowned leading jockey at Royal Ascot.

His first winner as a trainer came at Tramore on June 1st, 2013 when Benbacula scored under Ben Curtis. The same horse won again at Fairyhouse 11 days later and Murtagh was soon established in his new role. Royal Diamond, Belle De Crecy and Rich Coast were early big race winners. Murtagh landed a notable winner in Britain in August of 2014 when Mutual Regard won the Betfred Ebor at York. 

He enjoyed his first treble as a trainer at Leopardstown on Thursday, June 14, 2018 when Parkers Hill (Niall McCullagh), True Valour (Chris Hayes) and Circling Moon (Conor Hoban) all won. 

Johnny landed his first Group 1 success as a trainer when the Colin Keane-ridden Champers Elysees took the Matron Stakes on the opening day of Longines Irish Champions Weekend at Leopardstown in September, 2020. As a jockey, Johnny won the race on three occasions. A year later and at the same two-day fixture, Murtagh gained his first Classic success when the Ben Coen-ridden Sonnyboyliston won the Comer Group International Irish St Leger at the Curragh. 

As a jockey, Johnny Murtagh rode 43 winners at Royal Ascot in all and he gained his first training success at the meeting when the Ben Coen-ridden Create Belief landed the Sandringham Handicap for three-year-old fillies in 2021.

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2022/2023475656€34,500€27,650€62,150
Winter All Weather 2021/2022313247€23,400€20,065€43,465
Winter All Weather 2020/2021271133€6,600€9,365€15,965
Winter All Weather 2019/2020338535€60,300€19,040€79,340
Winter All Weather 2018/2019111102€6,563€5,063€11,625
Winter All Weather 2017/201830000€0€375€375
Winter All Weather 2016/2017252044€14,375€9,000€23,375
Winter All Weather 2015/2016385435€42,700€19,540€62,240
Winter All Weather 2014/2015171314€10,500€7,530€18,030
Winter All Weather 2013/2014201442€5,600€10,560€16,160
National Hunt 2021/202230020€0€2,000€2,000
National Hunt 2020/202130000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2019/202061000€7,200€600€7,800
National Hunt 2018/201940001€0€600€600
Flat 202244644495343€716,100€562,875€1,278,975
Flat 202129937304126€873,500€402,700€1,276,200
Flat 202028741353025€708,300€313,603€1,021,903
Flat 201929022363530€240,113€256,558€496,670
Flat 201825433273130€369,125€220,815€589,940
Flat 201720823231319€235,938€215,815€451,753
Flat 201621028232023€313,625€175,738€489,363
Flat 20151641417715€192,700€66,000€258,700
Flat 201418115291426€189,620€167,493€357,113
Flat 201313115201213€270,310€145,745€416,055

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Dundalk 10/03/23 Angels Wrath B.M. Coen F 1m 2 9-0 90 Join Us Instagram @dundalk_stadium Race €3,000
Dundalk 10/03/23 Take Heart B.M. Coen Mdn 1m 1 9-8 Book Online @ M'dn €7,500
Dundalk 03/03/23 Shanghai Dragon C. Geerdharry Hcp 7f 13 9-4 85 H'cap
Dundalk 24/02/23 Chavajod (GB) S.B. Kelly F 1m 6 9-10 70 Claiming Race €200
Dundalk 24/02/23 Rebecca's Girl S.B. Kelly Mdn 1m 7 9-3 Irish Stallion Farms EBF (Fillies) M'dn
Dundalk 24/02/23 Miss Mirabell S.B. Kelly Hcp 1m 5 9-11 92 Crowne Plaza Dundalk Race & Stay H'cap €465
Dundalk 24/02/23 Lauroline (GB) S.B. Kelly Mdn 7f 3 9-4 View Restaurant At Dundalk Stadium M'dn €1,100
Dundalk 17/02/23 Artemis Jones S.B. Kelly Mdn 6f 3 9-3 Irish Stallion Farms EBF M'dn €1,500
Dundalk 17/02/23 Baile Locha Riach (FR) S.B. Kelly Mdn 1m 8 9-8 Dundalk Stadium M'dn
Dundalk 17/02/23 Icykel S.B. Kelly Mdn 1m 4f 1 9-4 M'dn €6,600
Dundalk 17/02/23 Rebecca's Girl N.G. McCullagh Mdn 6f 7 9-3 Irish Stallion Farms EBF M'dn
Dundalk 17/02/23 Take Heart W.J. Lee Mdn 1m 3 9-8 Dundalk Stadium M'dn €1,200
Dundalk 17/02/23 Lake Illawarra C. Geerdharry Hcp 1m 2f 150yds 6 8-12 70 Dundalk Winter Series Championship H'cap €220
Dundalk 15/02/23 Malacanne S.B. Kelly Hcp 7f 1 9-4 73 H'cap €7,200
Dundalk 10/02/23 Shanghai Dragon S.B. Kelly Hcp 1m 5 10-0 85 View Restaurant At Dundalk Stadium H'cap €360
Dundalk 03/02/23 Chavajod (GB) S.B. Kelly Hcp 1m 9 10-0 72 H'cap
Dundalk 03/02/23 Lauroline (GB) C. Geerdharry Mdn 1m 2 8-8 View Restaurant At Dundalk (F) M'dn €2,200
Dundalk 27/01/23 Lauroline (GB) C. Geerdharry Mdn 7f 2 8-11 View Restaurant Dundalk Apprentice M'dn €2,200
Dundalk 27/01/23 Malacanne S.B. Kelly Hcp 1m 1 9-0 67 Book Online At H'cap €6,900
Dundalk 20/01/23 Angels Wrath S.B. Kelly F 7f 4 9-0 90 Story Of Dundalk Stadium Book Race €725

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).