Brian McMahon

County of origin: Clare

Date of licence: 2013

First winner: Powersbomb (Derek O'Connor) Sligo, July 13, 2014

Significant horses (selected): Powersbomb, Se Mo Loach, Seskinane

Assoc. jockeys: Derek O'Connor, Eoin Mahon

Did you know: 

From Kilmaley, County Clare, Brian McMahon began his career in racing when riding out for trainer Donie Hassett and gained further experience working with Nicky Henderson for two years at a time when Binocular, Bobs Worth, Long Run, Punchestowns and Sprintre Sacre were among the stable stars. 

Brian returned home and began training in 2013 and enjoyed his first winner when the Derek O'Connor-ridden Powersbomb won a bumper at Sligo in July of the following year. The same horse was a winner under Mikey Fogarty at the Galway Festival in 2015 and was a four-time winner in all for the stable. 

Brian is a graduate of NUI Galway and is a Research and Development Biochemist by profession. In 1997, he won an All-Ireland minor title with his native county and enjoyed a distinguished club career with Kilmaley, winning a county title in 2004. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2018/201910000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2016/201710000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2015/201640001€0€550€550
National Hunt 2019/2020274014€39,300€9,900€49,200
National Hunt 2018/2019313373€25,625€28,488€54,113
National Hunt 2017/2018221262€10,000€17,188€27,188
National Hunt 2016/2017302331€14,688€18,800€33,488
National Hunt 2015/2016201224€12,250€9,930€22,180
National Hunt 2014/2015161121€5,250€4,380€9,630
National Hunt 2013/201460020€0€3,950€3,950
Flat 201910000€0€0€0
Flat 201870000€0€0€0
Flat 201751020€8,125€2,450€10,575
Flat 2016230222€0€7,900€7,900

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Thurles 20/02/20 Powersbomb E. Mahon HcpCh 2m 149yds 5 10-12 130 Go Racing At Thurles H'cap S'chase €750
Navan 16/02/20 Se Mo Laoch E. Mahon HcpCh 3m 1 11-3 123 Come Racing 29th February H'cap S'chase €9,600
Navan 16/02/20 Seskinane P.T. Enright HcpHdl 2m 7f 20yds 1 10-6 98 H'cap H'dle €7,500
Dundalk 14/02/20 Saga Bolton R.C. Colgan Hcp 1m 2f 150yds 14 9-12 68 View Restaurant At Dundalk Stadium H'cap
Fairyhouse 25/01/20 I'll Be That Lady M.A. Enright MdnHdl 2m 4f 9 11-2 Easter Festival 11th-13th April Mdn Hdle
Navan 18/01/20 Seskinane E. Mahon HcpHdl 2m 4f 5 10-9 98 RacingTV FREE For A Month H'cap H'dle €375
Punchestown 12/01/20 Se Mo Laoch E. Mahon HcpCh 3m 1f 100yds 4 11-3 123 Total Event Rental (Q.R.) H'cap S'chase €925
Fairyhouse 11/01/20 Powersbomb A.W. Short HcpCh 2m 1f 6 10-0 131 Dan & Joan Moore Memorial H'cap S'chase (Grade A) Grade A €2,000
Limerick 28/12/19 Seskinane E. Mahon HcpHdl 2m 5f 8 11-5 102 Parkway Shopping Centre H'cap H'dle
Limerick 28/12/19 Se Mo Laoch E. Mahon HcpHdl 3m p.u. 10-12 110 Cube Printing H'cap H'dle
Leopardstown 26/12/19 Powersbomb D.F. O'Regan HcpCh 2m 1f 4 11-4 131 Bet Through Racing Post App H'cap S'ch €1,500
Leopardstown 26/12/19 I'll Be That Lady T. Ryan MdnHdl 2m 13 10-7 Bet With Tote M'dn H'dle
Fairyhouse 14/12/19 Se Mo Laoch E. Mahon HcpHdl 2m 7f 1 11-4 101 Happy Christmas From Fairyhouse Hcp Hdle (Div 1) €7,200
Cork 08/12/19 Powersbomb E. Mahon HcpHdl 2m 8 10-10 116 Low Low H'cap H'dle
Punchestown 08/12/19 Seskinane J.J. Slevin HcpHdl 2m 3f 150yds 9 11-0 106 Blackrock Insurance Kilmacud H'cap H'dle
Clonmel 05/12/19 I'll Be That Lady G.B. Noonan MdnHdl 2m 3f 39yds 15 10-4 Next Meeting Jan 9th (QR) M'dn H'dle
Cork 17/11/19 Powersbomb A.W. Short HcpCh 2m 160yds 1 10-6 125 2020 Annual Membership H'cap S'chase €15,000
Punchestown 16/11/19 Se Mo Laoch E. Mahon HcpHdl 3m 10 10-10 102 Punchestown For Christmas H'cap H'dle
Down-Royal 01/11/19 Se Mo Laoch E. Mahon HcpHdl 3m 4 11-5 102 Allianz H'cap H'dle €750
Down-Royal 01/11/19 Powersbomb E. Mahon HcpCh 2m 100yds 3 11-0 127 Ladbrokes H'cap S'chase €1,800

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info