Colm Murphy

County Of Origin: Wexford

Date of licence: 2000

First winner: Anvil Lord (Neil Mulholland) Cork, March 31, 2002

Significant horses (selected): Brave Inca, Big Zeb, Marlbrook, Empire Of Dirt, Voler La Vedette, Quito De La Roque, Feathard Lady.

Did you know:  

Colm Murphy first came to attention in racing as a successful amateur rider. As well as his riding, he worked in Aidan O’Brien's office at Ballydoyle, dealing with entries, declarations and other administration work. Having taken out his own license to train in 2000, Murphy didn’t have to wait long to come across a horse of a lifetime in the shape of Brave Inca.

A legendary hurdler, he won 10 Grade 1 races, most notably a never-to-be-forgotten victory in the Champion Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival in 2006. Feathard Lady was another high-class horse in Murphy's care at the time but she never raced again after her win in the Grade 1 Christmas Hurdle at Sandown in December 2005 and was retired having won each of her seven starts.

As Brave Inca’s powers were fading, Murphy gained a new stable star in Big Zeb who recorded six Grade 1 wins including the Queen Mother Champion Chase at the Cheltenham Festival in 2010. After a couple of quiet years, Murphy enjoyed something of a resurgence in the 2015/2016 season and enjoyed big handicap chase success with both Empire Of Dirt and Marlbrook. Empire Of Dirt gave the County Wexford trainer his fourth Cheltenham Festival success when taking the Brown Advisory & Merriebelle Stable Plate Handicap Chase at in 2016.

On September 23, 2016 Murphy took the racing world by surprise when announcing his intention to retire from the training ranks. He soon joined the Turf Club (later the IHRB) as a racing official but in May, 2019 again made the headlines when deciding to renew his training licence. 

Emo Oil Champion H'dle (Grade 1) (Brave Inca - A.P. McCoy - 2005)

AIG Europe Champion H'dle (Grade 1) (Brave Inca - A.P. McCoy - 2006) Champion S'chase (Grade 1) (Big Zeb - B.J. Geraghty - 2011) Champion S'chase (Grade 1) (Quito De La Roque (FR) - D.N. Russell - 2011)

Toshiba Irish Champion H'dle (Grade 1) (Brave Inca - R. Walsh - 2009)

Cathal Ryan Mem.Swordlestown Cup Nov.Sch (Grade 1) (Big Zeb - B.J. Geraghty - 2008)

Paddy Power Dial-A-Bet S'chase (Grade 1) (Big Zeb - R.M. Power - 2011)

Paddy Power Dial-A-Bet S'chase (Grade 1) (Big Zeb - B.J. Geraghty - 2010)

Paddy Power Dial-A-Bet S'chase (Grade 1) (Big Zeb - M.M. O'Connor - 2008) December Festival H'dl (Grade 1) (Brave Inca - R. Walsh - 2006)

Ballymore Properties Hatton's Grace H'dl (Grade 1) (Brave Inca - A.P. McCoy - 2006) Leopardstown H'cap S'chase (Grade A) (Empire Of Dirt - J.M. Moore - 2016) December Festival Hdle (Grade 1) (Brave Inca - A.P. McCoy - 2005)

Evening Herald Champion Novice H'dle (Grade 1) (Brave Inca - B.M. Cash - 2004)

Bar One Racing Hatton's Grace H'dle (Grade 1) (Voler La Vedette - A.E. Lynch - 2011)

Deloitte Novice H'dle (Grade 1) (Brave Inca - B.M. Cash - 2004)

Gain Horse Feeds H'cap H'dle (Grade C) (Bambootcha - S.W. Flanagan - 2008)

Growise Champion Novice S'chase (Grade 1) (Quito De La Roque (FR) - D.N. Russell - 2011)

I.T.B.A. Fillies Scheme EBF(Mares)H'dle (Grade 3) (Voler La Vedette - S.W. Flanagan - 2009)

Ballykisteen Hotel & Golf Tipperary Hdle (Grade 2) (Megans Joy - D.N. Russell - 2008)

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2012/201363101€21,700€1,760€23,460
National Hunt 2019/202030000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2016/2017303063€21,563€14,513€36,075
National Hunt 2015/2016486544€128,550€28,553€157,103
National Hunt 2014/201510398168€123,400€36,578€159,978
National Hunt 2013/201413913121211€114,280€46,272€160,552
National Hunt 2012/201312116121714€139,400€99,603€239,003
National Hunt 2011/201213117201214€384,500€138,510€523,010
National Hunt 2010/201119024201418€463,095€129,044€592,139
National Hunt 2009/201022623242418€304,518€96,510€401,028
National Hunt 2008/200923324222922€453,700€193,205€646,905
National Hunt 2007/200822329241318€429,635€150,020€579,655
National Hunt 2006/200717019151015€269,600€120,585€390,185
National Hunt 2005/2006105151388€337,600€85,400€423,000
National Hunt 2004/20055511842€190,750€84,810€275,560
National Hunt 2003/2004234401€131,350€7,920€139,270
National Hunt 2002/2003223110€28,700€4,860€33,560
National Hunt 2001/2002152102€26,300€2,355€28,655
National Hunt 2000/200160100€0€1,295€1,295
Flat 201910000€0€375€375
Flat 201530001€0€450€450
Flat 201410000€0€0€0
Flat 201370100€0€5,000€5,000
Flat 2012131200€5,600€3,995€9,595
Flat 201180001€0€850€850
Flat 2010105101€41,858€1,508€43,366
Flat 200970100€0€1,190€1,190
Flat 2008120001€0€600€600
Flat 2007110023€0€6,010€6,010
Flat 2006170000€0€0€0
Flat 2005242103€26,420€9,800€36,220
Flat 200420001€0€800€800
Flat 200320000€0€0€0
Flat 200250000€0€0€0
Flat 200110000€0€0€0

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Navan 28/09/19 Spare Capacity B. Hayes MdnHdl 2m 23 11-12 Bar One Racing App M'dn H'dle
Tramore 16/08/19 Spare Capacity B. Hayes MdnHdl 2m 10 11-12 Definite Ruby M'dn H'dle
Tramore 15/08/19 Botani L.A. Hourigan Mdn 2m 5 10-4 Sands Hotel Tramore (Ladies) M'dn €375
Cork 12/07/19 Glendruid J.C. Barry NHF 2m 8 11-9 Battle Of The Clubs INH Flat Race
Gowran-Park 01/10/16 Black Zambezi M.P. Fogarty MdnHdl 2m 4f 4 11-12 Kilkenny River Court Hotel M'dn H'dle €625
Ballinrobe 20/09/16 Mick Thonic (FR) J.J. Burke BegCh 2m 1f 3 11-12 Connacht Tribune Beginners S'chase €1,100
Listowel 17/09/16 Presenting Beara J.J. Burke HcpCh 3m 7 11-3 121 Beasley Engineering Limited H'cap Schase
Listowel 17/09/16 Killiney Court M.P. Fogarty HcpHdl 2m 4f 4 10-3 111 M.J. Carroll ARRO H'cap H'dle €1,500
Listowel 15/09/16 Mister Hotelier R.C. Colgan HcpHdl 2m 7 10-4 118 Ladbrokes Ireland H'cap H'dle (Grade B) Grade B
Ballinrobe 23/08/16 Killiney Court M.P. Fogarty BegCh 2m 3f 1 11-12 On Course Vets Beginners S'chase €7,188
Killarney 20/08/16 Mick Thonic (FR) J.J. Burke BegCh 2m 1f p.u. 11-12 International Hotel Beginners S'chase
Kilbeggan 19/08/16 Sizing Alberta (FR) J.J. Burke BegCh 3m 1f p.u. 11-12 Beginners S'chase
Kilbeggan 19/08/16 Sharlanda P. Townend HcpHdl 2m 7 10-12 102 At The Races H'cap H'dle
Cork 01/08/16 Killiney Court M.P. Fogarty HcpHdl 2m 3 10-12 109 Irish Examiner H'cap H'dle €1,650
Cork 01/08/16 Coolfore Jack M.P. Fogarty HcpHdl 2m 3f 9 11-2 99 Award Winning At The Races App Hcap Hdle
Galway 31/07/16 Mister Hotelier R.C. Colgan HcpCh 2m 2f 54yds 3 9-11 123 Lord Hemphill Memorial H'cap S'chase €3,250
Galway 27/07/16 Shariyan D. Meyler HcpHdl 2m 5f 11yds 16 11-6 121 H'cap H'dle
Ballinrobe 19/07/16 Sharlanda R.M. Power HcpHdl 2m 1f 110yds 1 10-13 96 Tim Kelly Group H'cap H'dle €7,813
Killarney 14/07/16 Sizing Alberta (FR) D.N. Russell HcpHdl 2m 4f 12 11-10 114 Dawn Omega Milk H'cap H'dle
Killarney 14/07/16 Mick Thonic (FR) D.N. Russell BegCh 2m 1f fell 11-12 Dawn Hi + Lo Milk Beginners S'chase

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info