Barry O'Neill

County of origin: Wexford

First winner: Shanrica (Paul Nolan) Downpatrick, July 13th, 2006

Assoc. Trainers: Colin Bowe, Paul Nolan, Liz Doyle, Richie Rath

Significant horses (selected): Askanna, Commander Of Fleet, Shantou Flyer, Coeur De Lion. 

500th Point-to-Point winner: Definite Warrior (John Kinsella) Borris House, December 9, 2018

Did you know:

From Ballindaggin, County Wexford, Barry O'Neill is one of the country's leading amateur riders. He rode is first winner on the Paul Nolan-trained Shanrica at Downpatrick on July 13, 2006 and rode his first point-to-point winner on the Colin Bowe-trained Viking Rebel at Horse And Jockey on March 11, 2007.

He rode his 300th winner in the point-to-point field at Rathcannon in September 27, 2015 when successful on the Adrian Maguire-trained Knockraha Boss. Barry became just the fourth rider, after Derek O'Connor, Jamie Codd and John Thomas McNamara, to ride 500 point-to-point winners when the John Kinsella-trained Definite Warrior scored at Borris House in December, 2018. He brought his point-to-point tally to 600 with success on the Paul Nolan-trained Fire Love at Castletown-Geoghegan on October 4, 2020. 

Barry won the Point-To-Point Award at annual Horse Racing Ireland Awards in 2017 and again in 2018. 

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
National Hunt 2022/2023276223€39,000€15,150€54,150
National Hunt 2021/2022791610115€106,800€67,875€174,675
National Hunt 2020/20211038151212€46,200€72,755€118,955
National Hunt 2019/20206881158€52,150€60,835€112,985
National Hunt 2018/2019771114106€89,375€69,463€158,838
National Hunt 2017/20187491358€119,063€47,425€166,488
National Hunt 2016/2017616555€40,938€27,513€68,450
National Hunt 2015/2016647577€125,150€25,363€150,513
National Hunt 2014/2015463268€16,450€23,358€39,808
National Hunt 2013/2014745899€34,125€24,570€58,695
National Hunt 2012/2013848985€48,300€23,680€71,980
National Hunt 2011/201292612109€39,550€36,846€76,396
National Hunt 2010/2011821315104€103,540€34,108€137,648
National Hunt 2009/2010404116€20,413€6,670€27,083
National Hunt 2008/2009532158€13,650€12,830€26,480
National Hunt 2007/2008878956€53,025€25,363€78,388
National Hunt 2006/2007312041€12,950€5,880€18,830
National Hunt 2005/200620000€0€0€0

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Gowran Park 11/03/23 Givehimthehonour NHF 2m 2f 8 12-0 Doc's Bumper INH Flat Race
Gowran Park 11/03/23 Ferns Lock (GB) Ch 3m 1f 1 12-0 INHSC Tetratema Cup Hunters S'chase €8,100
Leopardstown 06/03/23 Petit Dejeuner NHF 2m 3 11-11 Irish Stallion Farms EBF(M)INH Flat Race €1,100
Leopardstown 05/03/23 Balally Park NHF 2m 6 11-3 Ballinteer (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race €230
Leopardstown 05/02/23 Marie Philippe NHF 2m 7 11-8 Coolmore NH Sires EBF (M) INH Flat Race (Grade 2) Grade 2
Leopardstown 04/02/23 Special Cadeau (GB) NHF 2m 8 11-11 Shabra Future Stars (C&G) INH Flat Race (Grade 2) Grade 2
Thurles 22/01/23 Ferns Lock (GB) Ch 3m 149yds 1 11-11 Thurles Racecourse Hunters S'chase €6,000
Clonmel 17/01/23 Global Assembly (GB) Ch 2m 4f 2 12-0 Rathronan M'dn Hunters S'chase €2,000
Punchestown 31/12/22 Baby Chou NHF 2m 2f 5 11-11 ISF EBF (Mares) (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race €330
Limerick 28/12/22 Soldante NHF 2m 2f 5 12-0 Woodlands House Hotel INH Flat Race €315
Limerick 27/12/22 Ultimate Optimist Ch 2m 6f 120yds 1 12-0 Earl Of Harrington Mem. Mdn Hunters S'ch €6,300
Down Royal 26/12/22 Cru Bourgeois (FR) BegCh 2m 4f 8 11-12 Irish Stall. Farms EBF Beginners S'chase
Down Royal 26/12/22 Vaucelet (FR) Ch 3m 1 12-0 McMahon McKay Hospitality Hunters S'ch €6,000
Down Royal 26/12/22 Tiz All Hush Hush NHF 2m 1f 10 12-0 McMahon McKay (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race
Fairyhouse 21/12/22 Marie Philippe NHF 2m 1 11-5 Irish Stall. Farms EBF (F) INH Flat Race €6,600
Naas 20/12/22 Givehimthehonour NHF 1m 7f 201yds 3 12-0 Bar One Racing Price Boost INH Flat Race €1,050
Thurles 24/11/22 Chiefs Kingdom MdnHdl 2m 33yds 4 11-4 Start Christmas Here (QR) M'dn H'dle €500
Fairyhouse 15/11/22 Ferns Lock (GB) Ch 2m 7f 160yds 1 11-4 INHSC Supp. Point-To-Points Hunters S'ch €6,000
Thurles 03/11/22 Spitalfield NHF 1m 7f 188yds 2 11-10 Irish Stal. Farms EBF Auction Flat Race €3,000
Galway 04/10/22 Spitalfield NHF 2m 160yds 5 11-8 Student Raceday 31 October INH Flat Race €300

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).