Maxine O'Sullivan

County of origin: Cork

First winner (Point-to-Point): The Merry Mason (Eugene O'Sullivan) Knockanard, February 17, 2008

First winner (racecourse): Rathvinden (Ian Ferguson) Downpatrick, June 7, 2013

Notable horses (selected): It Came To Pass, Rathvinden, Raya Time, Penny Out, Dreal Deal, Future Proof, The Hollinwell.

Did you know: 

From Lombardstown, County Cork, Maxine O'Sullivan is one of the leading lady riders on the point-to-point circuit and has also enjoyed plenty of success on the racecourse. She rode her first point-to-point winner on The Merry Mason, trained by her father Eugene, at Knockanard in February 2008. Maxine was crowned Ladies Point-to-Point Champion for the first time in 2010, sharing the title with Liz Lalor. She won the title outright for the first time four years later.  

Maxine rode her first winner on the racecourse when successful on subsequent Cheltenham Festival winner Rathvinden for trainer Ian Ferguson in a bumper at Downpatrick in June 2013. 

Her greatest day in the saddle came when she won the St James’ Place Foxhunter Chase at the Cheltenham Festival on It Came To Pass, trained by her father Eugene, in March 2020. It Came To Pass bridged a 29-year gap for Eugene who had previously won the same race with Lovely Citizen, ridden by his brother William, in 1991. For their success, Maxine and her father were the recipients of the National Hunt Achievement Award at the Horse Racing Ireland Awards in December 2020.  

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
National Hunt 2022/2023192301€19,500€7,830€27,330
National Hunt 2021/20227648911€25,200€39,210€64,410
National Hunt 2020/2021646544€37,200€20,485€57,685
National Hunt 2019/2020455524€31,413€17,440€48,853
National Hunt 2018/2019344361€26,875€16,963€43,838
National Hunt 2017/2018252021€13,438€3,888€17,325
National Hunt 2016/2017250202€0€6,013€6,013
National Hunt 2015/2016272232€14,425€7,245€21,670
National Hunt 2014/2015341464€5,950€15,750€21,700
National Hunt 2013/2014322252€10,500€13,820€24,320
National Hunt 2012/201360000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2011/201260000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2010/201140000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2008/200930000€0€0€0

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Tramore 11/08/22 Russian Diamond Mdn 2m 8 10-9 Flynn Hotels (Ladies) M'dn
Tipperary 05/08/22 Firstman (FR) Hcp 1m 4f 115yds 6 10-0 58 GAIN The Advantage Series (Ladies) H'cap €300
Cork 01/08/22 Hazran HcpHdl 2m 1f 10 10-2 104 Fermoy H'cap H'dle
Galway 28/07/22 Brookie NHF 2m 2f 59yds 9 11-9 Guinness Time INH Flat Race
Galway 25/07/22 Hazran HcpHdl 2m 130yds 15 11-6 106 Easyfix H'cap H'dle
Limerick 21/07/22 Starlight Oasis (GB) NHF 2m 8 10-11 Cube Printing Irish EBF (F) Flat Race
Curragh 16/07/22 Massaman Hcp 1m 4f 10 10-6 82 Kildare Village Ladies Derby H'cap
Killarney 14/07/22 Meetingofthewaters MdnHdl 2m 4f 5 11-7 Kerry Drain Services M'dn H'dle €315
Killarney 14/07/22 Brookie NHF 2m 1f 2 11-9 Kelly Brothers (Ladies P/Am) Flat Race €2,100
Roscommon 04/07/22 Bint Freya NHF 1m 7f 90yds 9 11-6 EBF (Mares)(Ladies Pro/Am) INH Flat Race
Wexford 15/06/22 Shantou Lucky HcpHdl 2m 4f 100yds 8 11-13 108 Slaney River (Ladies) H'cap H'dle
Downpatrick 11/06/22 Montel Glory HcpHdl 2m 5f 60yds 4 10-12 80 Congratulating Honeysuckle (QR) Hcap Hdl €500
Tramore 03/06/22 Angelsworknovrtime NHF 2m 120yds 7 11-2 Kilbarry (Ladies Pro/Am) INH Flat Race
Punchestown 29/05/22 Shantou Lucky HcpHdl 2m 3f 130yds 2 11-8 105 Play Ladbrokes 5-A-Side Ladies Hcap Hdle €2,200
Leopardstown 13/05/22 The Names Jock Hcp 1m 4f 1 9-9 85 Women's Irish Network Lady Riders H'cap €13,500
Cork 07/05/22 Jane Wilde NHF 2m 8 10-11 Ir.Stallion Farms EBF (F) INH Flat Race
Downpatrick 06/05/22 Meetingofthewaters NHF 2m 1f 100yds 1 11-9 Molson Coors INH Flat Race €6,000
Tipperary 05/05/22 Corbetts Cross NHF 2m 2f 5 11-9 (C&G) Pt-To-Pt INH Flat Race €315
Ballinrobe 03/05/22 Can't Beat History NHF 2m 1f 26yds 2 11-9 Jennings Meats (L Pro-Am) INH Flat Race €2,100
Punchestown 30/04/22 Super Citizen (GB) Ch 3m 1f 11 11-12 113 Dooley Insurance Cross Country S'chase

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info