Jamie Codd

County of origin: Wexford

First winner: Killultagh Thunder (Willie Mullins) Leopardstown, December 28, 2001

First point-to-point winner: Eyze (Mags Mullins) Bramblestown, October 7, 2001

900th point-to-point winner: Pegase Amour (Liam Lennon) Loughanmore, November 10, 2018 

972nd and final point-to-point winner: Supreme Gift (Denis Murphy) Tattersalls Farm, May 9, 2021

Significant horses (selected): Cause Of Causes, Junior, Character Building, The Package, Rule Supreme, Missed That, Howaya Pet, Shaneshill, Petit Mouchoir, On The Fringe, Fayonagh, Le Breuil, Envoi Allen, Ravenhill.

Assoc. trainers: Gordon Elliott, Denise Foster; Eoin Doyle, John McConnell, Ross O'Sullivan, Prunella Dobbs, Peter Fahey, Denis Murphy

Did you know: 

From Mayglass, County Wexford, Jamie Codd is one of the finest amateur riders of his generation. He is the second winning-most point-to-point rider in the history of the sport. He is the only modern day rider to ride all six winners on one card emulating both John Berry who went through the card at Caim in 1988 and Brian McLernon who achieved the same feat in 1959.

Along the way he also managed to squeeze in riding his first Grade 1 winner when steering ex-pointer Shaneshill to success for Willie Mullins at the Punchestown Festival in 2014. He has ridden the winner of the Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup at the Cheltenham Festival on four occasions, on Character Building in 2009, Junior in 2011, The Package in 2015 and Cause Of Causes 2016. He also partnered Cause Of Causes to win the National Hunt Chase at Cheltenham in 2015 and the Cross Country Chase in 2017. He won the Cheltenham Festival Bumper on Fayonagh in the same year and rode two more Festival winners in 2019, Le Breuil in the National Hunt Chase and Envoi Allen gave him a second victory in the Bumper. Codd won the National Hunt Chase again on the Gordon Elliott-trained Ravenhill in 2020 and now has ten Festival winners to his name.  

Another notable success to come his way was the Crabbie´s Fox Hunters' Chase at Aintree in April of 2016 which he won the Enda Bolger-trained On The Fringe, replacing the suspended Nina Carberry. In August of the same year he enjoyed another high-profile success when landing the Amateur Derby at Epsom on the John Quinn-trained Hubertas. In November, 2016, Jamie reached another milestone when partnering his 800th point-to-point winner on Laylamac, trained by Damian Murphy, at Dromahane.

Jamie was crowned champion amateur rider for the first time at the conclusion of the 2016/2017 season. He rode 41 winners to pip Patrick Mullins in a thrilling climax to the title race. Mullins, at the time a nine-time winner of the title, lost out by just one winner. 

Jamie became only the second jockey to ride 900 point-to-point winners when success on the Liam Lennon-trained Pegase Amour at Loughanmore in County Antrim on Saturday, November 10, 2018. He announced his retirement from riding in point-to-points after winning the four-year-old maiden on the Denis Murphy-trained Supreme Gift at Tattersalls Farm on May 9. 2021. It was his 972nd winner 'between the flags'.

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
National Hunt 2022/202382211498€167,250€55,415€222,665
National Hunt 2021/202213731232311€243,300€156,595€399,895
National Hunt 2020/202117746312818€330,600€153,270€483,870
National Hunt 2019/20201152421217€189,225€99,310€288,535
National Hunt 2018/2019842513129€346,563€65,013€411,575
National Hunt 2017/201811318271217€131,250€88,588€219,838
National Hunt 2016/20171374116189€399,875€77,675€477,550
National Hunt 2015/201668616106€43,388€77,995€121,383
National Hunt 2014/20156010564€116,000€18,480€134,480
National Hunt 2013/2014142110€64,650€11,190€75,840
National Hunt 2012/2013682439€10,150€14,427€24,577
National Hunt 2011/2012435635€26,950€24,361€51,311
National Hunt 2010/2011253040€19,600€3,220€22,820
National Hunt 2009/2010645196€28,700€15,115€43,815
National Hunt 2008/2009485135€37,100€6,473€43,573
National Hunt 2007/2008333412€19,250€10,615€29,865
National Hunt 2006/2007531224€5,600€8,535€14,135
National Hunt 2005/200611471046€72,200€31,090€103,290
National Hunt 2004/200514111161517€98,450€58,395€156,845
National Hunt 2003/200417624171921€188,450€74,160€262,610
National Hunt 2002/20031261613108€139,300€56,115€195,415
National Hunt 2001/2002534212€35,705€5,836€41,540
National Hunt 2000/200170002€0€921€921

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Wexford 20/05/23 Familiar Dreams (GB) NHF 2m 2 11-5 Irish Stall. Farms EBF (M) INH Flat Race €2,200
Cork 06/05/23 Familiar Dreams (GB) NHF 2m 2 11-5 Ir.Stallion Farms EBF (F) INH Flat Race €2,200
Tipperary 04/05/23 Pebble Bleu NHF 2m 2f 11 11-5 Millennium (M) Pt-To-Pt INH Flat Race
Punchestown 26/04/23 Bold Reflection NHF 2m 70yds 8 11-11 Weatherbys GSB EBF (Mares) INH Flat Race (Grade 3) Grade 3
Punchestown 26/04/23 No Time To Wait NHF 2m 70yds 7 12-0 Race & Stay At Punchestown INH Flat Race (Grade 1) Grade 1
Punchestown 25/04/23 Rainbow Lily NHF 2m 100yds 6 11-3 Oak Lodge Landscapes Flat Race €300
Punchestown 25/04/23 Tactical Affair (FR) NHF 2m 100yds 5 11-6 Goffs Defender Bumper €3,000
Fairyhouse 10/04/23 Firefox NHF 2m 1 11-11 Leinster & Brazil (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race €12,000
Fairyhouse 09/04/23 Dee Capo (FR) NHF 2m 6 11-6 Tattersalls Ireland Sales Bumper €2,000
Fairyhouse 08/04/23 Tiger Bay Queen NHF 2m 90yds 1 11-4 Irish Stall. Farms EBF (M) INH Flat Race (Listed) Listed €18,000
Clonmel 06/04/23 Shannon Royale NHF 2m 121yds 1 12-0 Happy Easter To All (P-Am) INH Flat Race €6,000
Limerick 26/03/23 The Yellow Clay NHF 2m 50yds 1 11-6 Kevin McManus Champion (P-Am) Flat Race (Listed) Listed €21,000
Clonmel 21/03/23 Find A Fortune NHF 2m 2f 112yds 3 12-0 Russellstown INH Flat Race €1,000
Navan 20/03/23 Farren Glory NHF 2m 1 12-0 Racing March 29th (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race €6,000
Thurles 18/03/23 Fourtowns NHF 2m 2yds 7 11-10 www.thurlesraces.ie (P-Am) INH Flat Race
Thurles 13/03/23 Zaidi (FR) NHF 2m 98yds 1 12-0 Ballagh INH Flat Race €6,000
Limerick 12/03/23 Lucky Lyreen NHF 2m 2 12-0 Good Luck To Irish (Pr-Am) INH Flat Race €2,200
Leopardstown 05/03/23 The Yellow Clay NHF 2m 1 11-3 Ballinteer (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race €6,900
Naas 26/02/23 Caldwell Potter (FR) NHF 1m 7f 109yds 3 11-11 Nursery Of Champions (P-A) INH Flat Race €1,200
Punchestown 19/02/23 Quantum Storm NHF 2m 2 12-0 Hospitality (Pro-Am) INH Flat Race €2,000

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).