John Hanlon

County Of Origin: Kilkenny

Date of licence: 2006

First winner: Shaimaa (Mr Patrick Mullins), Cork, April 9, 2007

First Grade 1 winner: Skyace (Jody McGarvey) Irish Stallion Farms EBF Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final, Fairyhouse, Easter Sunday, April 4, 2021

Significant horses: Skyace, Hidden Cyclone, Truckers Delight, Luska Lad, Alfa Beat, Darenjan, Shaimaa, Western Leader, Murchu, Usuel Smurfer, Camlann, Mighty Stowaway, Kilkishen, Dime A Dozen, Mega Mindy. 

Go to his Website

Did you know:

From Bagenalstown, County Carlow, John "Shark" Hanlon was involved in the cattle-trading business and his career in horse racing began with the Mullins brothers, Willie, Tony and George. He took out his own license to train in 2006, had his first runner in January of the following year and four months later enjoyed his first winner when the Patrick Mullins (claiming 7lbs)-ridden Shaimaa won a bumper at the Easter Festival at Cork. 

Darenjan, Luska Lad and the 2009 Punchestown festival winner Truckers Delight were notable early winners. Luska Lad gave Shark his first Graded success when landing the Grade 2 Moscow Flyer Novice Hurdle at Punchestown in January 2010 and followed up in the Red Mills Trial Hurdle, again at Grade 2 level, at Gowran Park the following month with Western Leader winning the Grade 2 Michael Purcell Memorial Novice at Thurles just 12 days later. Hidden Cyclone emerged as another stable star later that same year while Truckers Delight won at both the Punchestown and Galway festivals in 2011. Another major success in 2011 came Shark's way when Alfa Beat won the Kerry National at Listowel in September. 

It is not lost on Rachael Blackmore how instrumental Shark was on her early career. She rode her first winner on his Stowaway Pearl at Thurles in February 2011. 

Skyace, famously bought for £600, gave Shark his first Grade 1 winner when she captured the Irish Stallion Farms EBF Mares Novice Hurdle Championship Final at Fairyhouse on Easter Sunday 2021. 

Guinness Kerry National H'cap S'chase (Grade A) (Alfa Beat - B.J. Geraghty - 2011)

Irish Stallion Farms EBF (M) Novice Hdle (Grade 1) (Skyace - J.S. McGarvey - 2021) H'cap H'dle (Grade B) (Truckers Delight - C. O'Farrell - 2011)

Red Mills Trial H'dle (Grade 2) (Luska Lad - D.N. Russell - 2010)

Connacht Tribune H'cap S'chase (Truckers Delight - C. O'Farrell - 2011)

Masterchef Hospitality H'cap H'dle (Grade C) (Truckers Delight - C. O'Farrell - 2009) Fortria S'chase (Grade 2) (Hidden Cyclone - B. Hayes - 2015)

BoyleSports Tied Cottage S'chase (Grade 2) (Hidden Cyclone - Andrew J. McNamara - 2015)

Rathbarry & Glenview Studs Novice H'dle (Grade 2) (Luska Lad - D.N. Russell - 2010)

Michael Purcell Memorial Novice H'dle (Grade 2) (Western Leader - C. O'Farrell - 2010)

Festival Party Pack Moscow Flyer Nov.Hdl (Grade 2) (Luska Lad - Andrew J. McNamara - 2010)

Cork Int'nal Airport Hotel H'cap H'dle (Darenjan - P.W. Flood - 2008)

Synergy Security Solutions Novice H'dle (Grade 2) (Hidden Cyclone - Andrew J. McNamara - 2011)

Michael Purcell Memorial Novice H'dle (Grade 2) (Hidden Cyclone - Andrew J. McNamara - 2011)

Failte Ireland EBF H'cap (Truckers Delight - D.P. McDonogh - 2009)

Irish Stallion Farms EBF (M) Novice Hdle (Grade 3) (Skyace - J.S. McGarvey - 2020)

Ryan's Cleaning Events Specialists H'dle (Grade 3) (Luska Lad - Andrew J. McNamara - 2010)

Caffrey's Bar & Restaurant H'cap S'chase (Grade C) (Murchu - M.A. Enright - 2012)

'For Auction' Novice H'dle (Grade 3) (Hidden Cyclone - Andrew J. McNamara - 2010)

Murray Spelman Poplar Square S'chase (Grade 3) (Hidden Cyclone - Andrew J. McNamara - 2012)

SeasonRuns1st2nd3rd4thWin MoneyPlace MoneyTotal *
Winter All Weather 2019/202030000€0€300€300
Winter All Weather 2018/201930000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2017/201840000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2016/201710000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2015/201650000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2014/201540000€0€0€0
Winter All Weather 2013/201450010€0€640€640
Winter All Weather 2012/201370200€0€2,720€2,720
Winter All Weather 2011/201240000€0€0€0
National Hunt 2021/20222851015721€69,600€64,790€134,390
National Hunt 2020/20212482324199€237,600€100,615€338,215
National Hunt 2019/20201326161310€47,313€77,425€124,738
National Hunt 2018/201918912141115€110,000€66,388€176,388
National Hunt 2017/20181333121111€23,438€61,738€85,175
National Hunt 2016/201718520121521€173,438€130,650€304,088
National Hunt 2015/201616210151515€104,463€93,083€197,545
National Hunt 2014/201519322152016€171,290€106,290€277,580
National Hunt 2013/201423710171618€74,930€90,734€165,664
National Hunt 2012/20132949142921€97,830€83,051€180,881
National Hunt 2011/201224123162122€276,050€95,538€371,588
National Hunt 2010/201128524191622€255,485€95,499€350,984
National Hunt 2009/201029214172225€188,750€80,185€268,935
National Hunt 2008/20091861615810€171,250€77,580€248,830
National Hunt 2007/2008887347€55,475€15,955€71,430
National Hunt 2006/2007101002€7,700€1,188€8,888
Flat 2021150001€0€600€600
Flat 202030001€0€750€750
Flat 2019230010€0€1,628€1,628
Flat 2018130100€0€4,100€4,100
Flat 2017232320€15,938€12,600€28,538
Flat 2016212111€14,688€6,238€20,925
Flat 2015221104€7,700€3,970€11,670
Flat 2014171104€5,250€3,013€8,263
Flat 2013270123€0€4,330€4,330
Flat 2012310124€0€4,550€4,550
Flat 2011211211€3,920€4,565€8,485
Flat 2010591315€4,900€6,675€11,575
Flat 20091074245€56,130€14,630€70,760
Flat 2008773535€27,300€17,530€44,830
Flat 2007444214€26,600€12,280€38,880

Date From
Date To
Race Type
Venue Date Horse Jockey Race Type Distance Place Weight Rating Race Pattern/ Listed Prize Money
Gowran-Park 27/01/22 Western Lad P. Elvin MdnHdl 2m 4f 85yds 8 11-5 RED MILLS EBF Ladies Auction M'dn H'dle
Gowran-Park 27/01/22 Like A Bullet A. Leahy NHF 2m 7 11-2 P.J. Foley Memorial INH Flat Race
Gowran-Park 27/01/22 Teescomponentsyess Shane Fenelon HcpHdl 2m 4f 85yds 4 11-6 116 Adare Manor Opportunity H'cap H'dle
Down-Royal 25/01/22 Orion D'aubrelle (FR) S. Fitzgerald HcpCh 3m p.u. 10-13 113 Molson Coors H'cap S'chase
Navan 22/01/22 Crobally Boy Shane Fenelon HcpCh 3m u.r. 10-7 88 Gormanlough H'cap S'chase
Navan 22/01/22 Fenta Des Obeaux (FR) Shane Fenelon HcpHdl 2m 4f 23 11-2 104 Ardmulchan H'cap H'dle
Navan 22/01/22 Brulure Noire J.S. McGarvey HcpHdl 2m 4f 16 11-9 104 Ardmulchan H'cap H'dle
Punchestown 17/01/22 Cosa Ban R. James HcpHdl 2m 2 12-0 109 John Thomas McNamara (QR) H'cap H'dle
Fairyhouse 15/01/22 Getaway Master J.S. McGarvey HcpHdl 2m 4f p.u. 11-9 87 Jump Into January H'cap H'dle (Div 1)
Fairyhouse 15/01/22 Rose Of Borris M.J. Molloy MdnHdl 2m 10 10-6 ITM Stallion Trail M'dn H'dle
Fairyhouse 15/01/22 Longacre Square Shane Fenelon BegCh 2m 14 11-7 Supporting Local Business Beg S'chase
Fairyhouse 15/01/22 Back On The Bridle J.S. McGarvey HcpHdl 2m 4f 5 11-12 90 Jump Into January H'cap H'dle (Div 2)
Tramore 01/01/22 Abbeyfeale J.S. McGarvey HcpHdl 2m 5f 100yds p.u. 11-10 88 Tramore Medical Clinic H'cap H'dle
Tramore 01/01/22 Longacre Square Shane Fenelon NovCh 1m 7f 90yds fell 10-12 Kelly's Of Borris Rated Novice S'chase
Fairyhouse 01/01/22 Yaiza A. Leahy HcpHdl 3m 110yds 10 11-7 109 Tote+ Pays You More At Hcap Hdle (Div 2)
Fairyhouse 01/01/22 Back On The Bridle Sam Ewing HcpHdl 2m 7 10-1 92 Keep Her Lit For Lar H'cap H'dle
Punchestown 31/12/21 Clashabreeda Shane Fenelon BegCh 2m 7f 40yds 8 11-0 Placepot Beginners S'chase
Punchestown 31/12/21 Getaway Master Shane Fenelon HcpHdl 1m 7f 120yds 8 11-10 88 Adare Manor Opportunity H'cap H'dle
Limerick 29/12/21 Fenta Des Obeaux (FR) Shane Fenelon NovHdl 2m 10 10-9 106 Greenmount Equine Rated Novice H'dle
Limerick 29/12/21 Dalileo Shane Fenelon HcpHdl 2m 3f 10 10-13 94 Party Time H'cap H'dle

*Statistics are up to close of business the previous day. Prize-money is allocated within 1 week of the race date (allow 1 week for Prize-money).

This site uses unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer, to improve performance and monitoring services.Click here for more info